Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Social Sciences in Michigan Tech!
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Other Social Sciences Guides
Start Your Research
Start your research by finding background information on Social Sciences.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
These resources go into more depth and detail on a wide range of Social Sciences topics.
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Abstracts - covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Searches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.