Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Van Pelt and Opie Library is happy to welcome students. This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us if you need further assistance.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Other Relevant Library Guides
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Offers Web of Science access to ISI Citation Indexes (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index), which contains multidisciplinary, high quality research information from the world's leading science, social science and art and humanities journals.
AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers major agricultural subjects, including agricultural engineering and marketing, entomology, environmental pollution, pesticides, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Focusing on social and political issues, this database features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social sciences journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on topics from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
A resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in this indispensable reference collection. These reference products offer researchers whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens a range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's authoritative content.
Other Info Sources
Searches across multiple US government databases. Includes direct links to any items available online.
Provided by the Library of Congress, find information all sorts of congressional activities including Bills, Resolutions, treaties, The Congressional Record, and presidential nominations.
US Government Agency Websites
Library Session Materials