Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Other Relevant Library Guides
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
In-class Resources
-
SS3530 The Automobile in America Finding ResourcesLinks to the slideshow from the library class session.
-
Automobile in America Resource SheetThis spreadsheet contains more resources such as books, e-books, online sites, journals, and archival sources beyond what was covered in the live class session.
Library Resources
All of these journals are accessible online, but some are also available as physical copies in the Library's Garden Level. You may also search for journals using the Library's search bar. Select the Journals tab above the search bar to browse by journal title, subject, or keyword. Please note that the journals search does not search within the journals, but only for the title or subject. To search for specific articles, you'll need to select a journal and search within it.
Linked are a number databases that might be useful for your research. Some of the databases selected encompass other fields outside of history as this information might be relevant to your research topics. For a more comprehensive list of databases, visit the Databases A-Z list. You can search using the alphabet across the top, or by selecting a subject in the drop down menu.
Please note that the A-Z list for databases only contains the titles and descriptions of databases; it does not search within them. To search for articles, please select a specific database and click on it to search within.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Includes all NYT articles from regular & International editions, Book Review, Magazine, web-only articles, videos, cooking section, and games! Also includes historical content dating back to 1851 (5 article per day per person limit from years 1923-1980). Once you have an account, you can connect directly to the New York Times via the web or via the mobile app!
Access Note: Access to the New York Times requires users to create an account with your MTU email address. Students will be asked to provide an anticipated graduation year, while staff and faculty will be required to verify their accounts every four years.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
Absorbed Artstor's collection of searchable images from museums and archives across the world. Use the Image tab to search; many of these can be used freely in education and research!
-
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to abstracts from a wide assortment of periodicals as far back as 1983. Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
-
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Full text of all SAE Technical Papers from 1906 to present as well as SAE Ground Vehicles and Aerospace Standards, both historical and current. Subjects cover all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Additional database content includes abstracts to journal articles, magazine articles, conference proceedings, special papers from SAE and other engineering societies. -
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed, full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
-
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Premier journals collection contains international peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subject areas, including specific journals collections covering health sciences, life & biomedical sciences, materials sciences, and social sciences & humanities.
Listed below are physical items in the library that may also be helpful as you begin your research projects. Click on the item to learn more about where it is located as well as to find the item's call number. You will need to have the item's call number to help you locate the item on the shelf. If you're not sure where to look, stop by the Ask Us! Station near the café and a Student Research Consultant or Librarian can help you. More resources are listed in the resource spreadsheet.
Journals
Books
- Automobile Politics: Ecology and Cultural Political Economy
- Cars and Culture: The Life Story of a Technology
- The Automobile and American Life
- The Cultural Life of the Automobile: Roads to Modernity
Archival Resources
Listed below are some archival materials selected for SS3530. All of these are available to browse in the Archives. The Archives' hours are Monday-Thursday 1:00 PM -5:00 PM, and visitors will need to make an appointment ahead of time. To make an appointment, please use the Request an Appointment form.
- Beyond the Model T
- Camping in Cloverland with Henry Ford
- Cloverland in Clovertime
- Henry Ford: A Hearthside Perspective
- From Horses to Horsepower: Introduction of the Automobile into the Keweenaw Peninsula
- Land of Hiawatha: Upper Peninsula of Michigan
- The Lure of the Land of Hiawatha
- Lured by the Land of Hiawatha
- Michigan Tourist Survey 1, 1957
Image Resources
- Auto-Archives Automotive Advertising
- Search for automotive advertising from a wide variety of decades
- Digital Public Library of America
- Images, texts, videos, and sounds from collections across the U.S.
- Copper Country Historical Images
- Search for images from the Copper Country