Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Tips for Searching
The resource below cover a range of subjects and make good starting points for your research on globalization.
As you dive into your research, here are some tips:
- Try a wide range of keywords - there are often a number of words that can all describe the same idea, and you never know which one an author may have used.
- If you aren't sure what words to start with, take a look at your in-class readings for ideas.
- Once you've found one or two good articles, search through those for additional key words or ideas.
- Narrow your search and limit your results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles when searching the databases for academic sources.
Key Information Resources for UN1025
Databases
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowContextual information, research, and opinions on today's social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScanned images of many articles from the Social Sciences and Humanities.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA database covering a very wide range of topics. Simple to use and powerful search tools. Check "peer-review" to narrow your search to journals that contain peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of areas of interest or markets.
Population Data
- Population Reference Bureau's DatasheetsInformation & data on populations from all over the world.
- Population Dynamics Research CentersPopulation Dynamics Research Centers are administered by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. Use this tool to search across separate research centers.
- CIA World FactbookReference information and basic facts about countries around the world, including economic and political data and maps.
News
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowIncludes all NYT articles from regular & International editions, Book Review, Magazine, web-only articles, videos, etc. Includes content dating back to 1851 (5 article per day per person limit from years 1923-1980). Does not include the cooking section, crossword, or the Athletic. Patrons will need to create an account with your MTU email address and a unique password first before using this link to access content. You will need to log in with your account credentials to save articles.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMajor world news; includes articles from newspapers, newswires, news magazines and TV/radio transcripts. Text, publication type and image searching available.
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
- Selecting Library ResourcesWhere do you even begin searching for articles, books, and other resources? Learn about the basic research resources that the library offers.
- Understanding Citations (APA style)Get a quick overview of APA style citation and begin thinking about the reasons why researchers cite.
- Searching Library DatabasesAdvanced strategies for searching databases.
- Evaluating ResourcesHow to evaluate the quality of your resources based on purpose, authority, and currency.
- Primary & Secondary SourcesExamine key differences between primary and secondary sources.
- More tutorials...Find additional tutorials on using the library catalog, reading call numbers, and renewing materials on the library website