Skip to main content
J. Robert Van Pelt and John and Ruanne Opie Library

Library Resources for Staff: Start Here

Welcome

Welcome new and returning staff! This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us with any questions.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can the library help me?

  • The library is here to help you find the information you need and to connect you with services that support your success. Visit the Ask Us! station in the library lobby, text (906) 379-9579, email reflib@mtu.edu, call (906) 487-2507, use our live chat service, or schedule a consultation with a member of our staff. Additional information is available via the Ask US! link here and on the library homepage.

Can I access ebooks, articles, journals, and databases from home?

  • Whether at home or worldwide, you have access to most library services and resources, including journals, databases, and e-books. On the library's website, look for tabs for Search, Databases A-Z, and Journals. Once you select a resource, you will be prompted to log in with your Michigan Tech username and ISO password.

I would like to read a book or article that the library does not have. Is there a way I can still get it?

  • You may request books, articles, or other materials the library doesn't have. We locate the materials you need from our partner suppliers, normally at no charge to you. More information can be found under "borrowing" on the library homepage. You may request items using MelCat (great for requesting books) or Interlibrary Loan.

How long can I keep a book I borrow?

  • You can keep most books for 15 weeks and can renew up to 3 times. You can check out books in our Leisure Collection for 5 weeks and renew for 1 week. For books you request from another library, it depends on that library's loan period. 

What are the library's hours?

  • The hours are listen on the library's homepage. After hours, parts of the first floor and all of the second floor are accessible 24/7 for Michigan Tech students, faculty, and staff. Swipe your HuskyCard at the Overnight Entrance on the west side of the library (the side facing the MUB) to access.

I am interested in using the Archives. When are they open and what do they have?

  • Subject coverage includes University and campus life, towns and cities in the Keweenaw, as well as the companies, social organizations, events and personalities of the university, the Copper Country, and Michigan's Upper Peninsula. The archives collections are non-circulating, which means materials and collections need to be accessed in the public reading room. The Archives operates on a walk-in basis for researches Monday - Friday 10am - 5pm. Research consultations may be scheduled for specialized types of research support. Copper Country Historical Images hosts more than 11,000 historic images of Michigan Tech and the Copper Country.

I have PDFs of articles stored everywhere! Can the library help me organize all of these documents?

  • Yes, we can! The library provides EndNote, a citation management program, to Michigan Tech students, faculty, and staff. Visit the library's EndNote guide for a download link and instructions (you will need to enter your ISO username and password), as well as information about EndNote workshops.

I keep seeing the HuskyFetch symbol when I perform database searches. What is it?

  • Click on the HuskyFetch button to find the full text of an article when it is available. If the full text is not available, you’ll be linked to Interlibrary Loan so you can request the article from another library.

I need technology! What do you have?

  • The second floor of the library houses 3D printers, a 3D scanner, wide-format printers, and an array of PC, Mac, and Linux computers. At the Circulation desk, you can check out calculators, cameras, voice recorders, phone chargers, headsets, laptops, and more. Take a look here for a complete list.

What Workshops does the library offer?

  • Every semester the library hosts workshops on a wide range of topics that will help you with your research, classwork, and teaching. Upcoming workshops are listed on the library’s website and include EndNote, Copyright in the Classroom, Library 101, and more.

I have a suggestion, idea, or need from the library or its staff. 

  • The library's staff wants the library to be the academic heart of the campus and a partner in your success. we are always happy to hear from you at library@mtu.edu.