Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
J. Robert Van Pelt and John and Ruanne Opie Library

Library Resources for Staff: University Archives and Historical Collections

University Archives and Historical Collections

Located on the Garden Level of the library, the Michigan Tech Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections holds a unique blend of print, graphic, and manuscript resources. The collections focus on University and campus life as well as the rich mining history of the Copper Country and Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Please contact the Archives with any questions regarding the Archives and its collections at copper@mtu.edu or (906) 487-2505.

University Archives and Historical Collections

What are the hours of the department?

  • The Michigan Tech Archives is open Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. During summer and fall semesters the department will also be open on the second Saturday of each month from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Does the Archives have online collections?

  • The Michigan Tech Archives maintains a robust digital archive of over 13,000 digital images. The Archives also actively publishes many of its collection finding aids online to make sure that researchers may get a better sense of manuscript collections available.
  • The department also maintains several online exhibits.

What resources are available in the Archives?

  • The Michigan Technological University Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections, located on the Garden Level of the library, houses a wide variety of print, graphic and manuscript resources. The department also serves as a local repository for State Records for the six counties in the western Upper Peninsula. Subject coverage includes University and campus life, towns and cities in the Keweenaw, as well as the companies, social organizations, events and personalities of the Copper Country and Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Many of the department’s finding aids are available online and there are over 11,000 historical photographs included in an online database. Call (906) 487-2505 or e-mail copper@mtu.edu for more information.