Database Recommendations
These databases have historically proven to be particularly useful for Composition Students. If you don't see one that interests you here, please visit the Databases A-Z page for a more comprehensive list.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowProvides free access to abstracts and records of journal articles related to the education field. When available, links to full text are included.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contextual information, research, and opinions on today's social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering multiple subject areas. Includes full text and content from articles, proceedings, newspapers, dissertations, and audio-visual sources.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowOpen full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Includes articles from participating journals and authors’ manuscripts submitted in compliance with funding agency requirements.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of areas of interest or markets. Statistics, industry reports, company dossiers, and forecasts are some of the content available for download in multiple formats. It also offers graphical tools that allow users to manipulate data and create infographics for use in presentations and publications.
Michigan Tech Archives
The University and Copper Country Archives are located on the Garden Level of the library. They house primary materials that capture the history of the university and Copper Country. If your topic would benefit from research and sources from the Archives, please contact them to schedule a research consultation.