Van Pelt and Opie Library Database A-Z List: Home

Science, social sciences, arts, and humanities abstracts. Provides tools for cited reference searching.

Collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects.

Use this Google Scholar link in order to access HuskyFetch capabilities.

Engineering and applied science research from 1884 to the present (includes Engineering Index).

Publications from IEEE and IEE covering a range of engineering and technology topics.

Digital library of scanned scholarly journals covering humanities, social sciences, and more.

Extensive information on biomedical topics.

Information on health, diseases, drugs, and more from the National Library of Medicine.

Trade reports, scholarly articles, news, and more covering business, marketing, and economic topics.

Search chemical substances, reaction structures, chemistry topics, author, and more. Note: registration required.

Combines multiple business databases providing access to scholarly journals, eBooks, trade publications, tax law resources, dissertations and conference proceedings, and videos. Company, industry, and country overviews and reports. Information sources in multiple business-related subjects including: business trends, marketing, economic conditions, accounting and finance.

Platform for searching and discovering ACM publications, including journals, proceedings, magazines, etc. Full-text for foundational articles published between 1951 and 2000. Some full-text access to select journals is available.

Contains indexing and abstracts for scientific and technical publications, including trade, industrial, professional, and technical safety journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyer's guides, directories and conference proceedings. Indexing dates back to 1983. Full-text journal content is available. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties - acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics, and more.

Indexing and abstracting of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, art dissertations and reproduction. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, archaeology, and architecture. Art and architectural history resources are also included.

Open access repository for research articles in the following subjects: physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science and economics. Most papers are in pre-publication versions and/or formats and are submitted by authors.

The American Society for Engineering Education provides open access to papers presented at their annual conference, international forum, public policy colloquium and other select meetings. Coverage varies based on proceeding, with the annual conference coverage dating back to 1996. Papers focus on engineering education improvement through teaching, research and technology.

Database provides full-content searching (including figures and captions) and high-resolution PDF access to ACS journals dating from 1879 to present. CAS Section filter allows searchers to drill down within five topical divisions including analytical, applied, biological, material science and engineering, organic-inorganic, and physical chemistry. Access to ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication, Chemical & Engineering News and C&EN Global Enterprise are included.

ASM Materials Information platform provides access to the complete ASM Handbooks Online and ASM Alloy Center Database. Including datasheets & diagrams, alloy finder, materials property data, coatings data, corrosion performance data, and failure analysis.

American Society of Civil Engineers platform for full text access to journals, books, proceedings and standards published by the society.

ASM Materials Platform for Data Science (MPDS) is the world’s largest and most comprehensive repository of inorganic materials data comprised of phase diagrams, crystal structures, and physical properties. The ASM Materials Platform for Data Science is the digital continuation of the Pauling File.

Full coverage of ASME journal content from 2000 to present. Searching and access to limited content (abstracts and citations) for journals from 1960 through 1999, conference proceedings from 1956 to present and ebooks from 1993 to present are also available in this collection.

Retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, combining retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce biographical information. Content Includes: article and book citations, coverage of present-day news-makers, and entries on individuals that reflect the perspective of the time when they were written.

Provides full text of articles, indexing, and abstracts from journals dating back to 1997. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics.

A reference database that provides review excerpts and book summaries for current English-language fiction and non-fiction books for all ages. Abstracting and indexing is included.

Contains full-text articles as well as providing product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports, all covering business-related topics including finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing. Full text also includes charts, graphs, photographs and other graphical content.

Provides detailed species accounts for over 10,000 species of birds around the world. Resource is a compilation of four major ornithological works, bird observation data, and resources from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. Collection contains image, video, and sound galleries showing behaviors, songs and calls, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more.

An independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

Access a vast collection of ebooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science, including the CRC Engineering Handbooks that were formerly available through CRCnetBase. Individual CRCnetBASE titles are also discoverable through the Search tab on the library’s homepage.

CERN's institutional repository that provides acquisition, search, and collaborative tools to manage collections of documents produced at CERN. The collections include research articles, preprints, multimedia, bulletins, HEP documents, Administrative (Directorate, HR, Finance) documents, EU Project documents (OpenAire, EMi), training documents, and more.

Official depository for crystal structure data for more than 8 journals. Includes the following programs. ConQuest: contains x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses of carbon-containing molecules having up to 1000 atoms. Mercury: a program for visualizing crystal structures in three dimensions. Mogul: is a knowledge base of molecular geometry from the Cambridge Structure Database System and provides rapid access to information on the preferred values of Bond lengths, Valence angles and Acyclic torsion angles.

Access Note: Available on all workstations and can be accessed from the Windows Menu under "C" -> CCDC. User's MTU login required for access, not available with anonymous library login. Please contact reflib@mtu.edu with any questions.

Provides comprehensive access to abstracts of the latest engineering research covering engineering and applied science literature in over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Also includes historical research from Engineering Index (1884-1969).

Analyses of major legislation and actions of congress from 1945 to present. Information can be tracked by year, topic, or policy issue.

Provides information about software vulnerabilities. Vulnerability Notes include summaries, technical details, remediation information, and lists of affected vendors. Most Vulnerability Notes are the result of private coordination and disclosure efforts. The CERT Division is part of the Software Engineering Institute, a federally funded research and development center operated by Carnegie Mellon University.

An automated scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on literature in computer and information science. It aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide research and improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

A core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.

A web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Common Chemistry is helpful to non-chemists who know either a name or CAS Registry Number¨ of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information. The CAS Registry Number is the universally recognized unique identifier of chemical substances and is often found on packaging and on articles of commerce. While not a comprehensive CAS Registry Number lookup service, Common Chemistry does provide a way to quickly and easily find names or CAS Registry Numbers for chemicals of general interest.

Provides a searchable full-text database of dissertations submitted by Michigan Tech to ProQuest's Dissertation & Theses database. Full-text PDF files are available for most dissertations from 1968. Also includes some theses.

Locate and obtain available literature from thousands of conferences, meetings and symposia

Offers a variety of ready-made and customizable reports based on Census data. Use to identify patterns and trends regarding household expenditures, market penetration and location of goods and services. Provides demographic information including population, income, housing, race, consumer and business information, earnings and expenditures consumer earnings and expenditures, and other statistics for states, counties, census tracts, and other U.S. geographic areas.

Digital full-text versions of books including reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction. To download individual titles, users need to create individual accounts and have access to Kindle Digital Editions. For assistance please see this library guide or contact a librarian Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm (906) 487-2507 or reflib@mtu.edu.

An automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Its primary purpose is to increase the efficiency and fairness of the securities market for the benefit of investors, corporations, and the economy by accelerating the receipt, acceptance, dissemination, and analysis of time-sensitive corporate information filed with the agency.

Provides indexing and abstracts for many journals and magazines dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, online teaching, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.

Provides free access to abstracts and records of journal articles related to the education field. When available, links to full text are included.

Free access through the European Patent Office (EPO) to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.

Reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with selected annuals and serial publications.

This database provides access to articles, biographical sketches of scientists, conference proceedings, lab guides, and book reviews in many scientific fields, including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more. 1984-present.

Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and relevant master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canada.

Use Google Scholar to locate scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports across broad topics.
Access Note: When off-campus, be sure to navigate to Google Scholar from the library's website to appropriately access Michigan Tech's subscription resources.

Contextual information, research, and opinions on today's social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

Abstracts on a wide range of subjects, including: archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Publication types include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs.

Provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912. Discover the lively news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.

Access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers.

Access to full-text journal articles, conference proceedings and standards published by IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). Select legacy content dating back to 1950 is also included.

These solubilities are compiled from 18 volumes of the International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry(IUPAC)-NIST Solubility Data Series. The database includes liquid-liquid, solid-liquid, and gas-liquid systems. Typical solvents and solutes include water, seawater, heavy water, inorganic compounds, and a variety of organic compounds such as hydrocarbons, halogenated hydrocarbons, alcohols, acids, esters and nitrogen compounds.

References to journal articles and books, reviews, and book chapters dating back to 1951. Primary subject areas are anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology; its international materials incorporate over 100 languages and countries.
Screen reader support enabled.

Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.

Includes full-text handbooks and technical information in analytical chemistry, catalysis, dispersions & aggregation, electrochemistry, environmental chemistry, industrial chemistry & chemicals, industrial safety, physical chemistry, plant design, polymer chemistry, separation, and transport processes. Specific titles include: Knovel Critical Tables, Yaw's Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds, and Ullmann's Chemical Engineering and Plant Design.

References to library and information science journals and periodicals that cover subjects including automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, scholarly communications, and more.

Provides interactive practice exams and test preparation materials for common standardized tests, including TOEFL, ACT Preparation, Civil Service, Nursing, SAP Preparation, GRE LSAT, and GMAT.
Access Note: You must register for a free user account to access resources.

Reviews and citations to research literature in mathematics, statistics, and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews, and mathematical publications. Includes author citation counts data.

Citation index to books, chapters, articles, dissertations, and websites in the disciplines of modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Searchable database of material properties. Includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Extensive photograph and postcard collections, personal papers such as diaries and scrapbooks, oral history interviews, sound and video files, and documentation on local organizations from Michigan. Subjects covered include the Dutch and Polish immigrant communities, the mining and lumbering industries, rural and small-town life, and much more.

The American Concrete Institute’s (ACI) Collection Online includes codes, specifications and practices pertaining to concrete design, construction and materials science.
Access Note: User name and password required for access. Please click here to retrieve user name and password info (ISO login required).

Browse Commercial Guides from specific countries; these guides include extensive info on doing business in different areas of the world. Search for other market intelligence from the U.S. Commercial Service and International Trade Administration.

Formerly Market Intelligence.

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, database contains cites literature from multiple medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

The MSDSonline database contains digital copies of the materials safety data sheets for chemicals being used at the University. This database is provided by the Office of Compliance, Integrity, & Safety in the Research division of Michigan Tech. Access requires MTU SSO.

Provides access to NASA's Scientific and Technical Information (STI), as well as literature from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), the NASA Image Exchange (NIX), and more.

Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 12.5 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.

Provides access to historical and current government documents acquired by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), a division of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The documents include technical documents, articles conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and more. Comprehensive subject area coverage.

Provides detailed experimental methods in a standard format for the synthesis of organic compounds. Also compiles independently checked selected procedures and new reactions which can be used to produce compounds of research utility.

The USPTO Web Patent Database offers the full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images of each page of every US patent issued since 1790 through the most recent weekly issue date. Search across US patents by number, keyword or classification.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles. Coverage is generally from 1946 - present with selective coverage back to 1809.
Access: While Pubmed is freely available worldwide, our version with HuskyFetch will link you to Michigan Tech subscribed content or to interlibrary loan services.

Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, and more across all areas of philosophy.

Database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.

Search or browse journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and visual and performing arts. Research areas include: history, language and linguistics, philosophy, gender studies, film studies, area and ethnic studies and education. Full-text availability varies between titles.

Provides access to indexing of international literature in psychology, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

Provides combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering multiple subject areas. Includes full text and content from articles, proceedings, newspapers, dissertations, and audio-visual sources.

Full-text journal articles, trade articles, reports, conference proceeding and magazines related to the biological sciences. Broad coverage includes topics related to medicine, technology, and the environment. Also includes microbiology, evolution, immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields.

Extensive collection of materials science and engineering resources Including METADEX. Full-text titles from international scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals and many are indexed in PsycINFO. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare. Includes access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

Bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats.

Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.This collection includes the following sub collections: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA): Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B), COS Conference Papers Index, Ecology Abstracts, Environment Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Impact Statements: Digests, Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text, Health & Safety Science Abstracts, Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A), Pollution Abstracts, Risk Abstracts, Sustainability Science Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE, Water Resources Abstracts

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of 1849 - 1998.

Includes abstracts and indexing of periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, and travel.

Provides access to abstracts from a wide assortment of periodicals as far back as 1983. Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Physics and engineering journals from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and other publishers.

Provides comprehensive coverage of works on Antarctica and the Southern Ocean, dated 1602 through 2003. Published by the Scott Polar Research Institute with the assistance of the British Antarctic Survey.

A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.

Contains reliable information resources selected by respective government agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included: selected authoritative science Web sites; and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings and other published materials.

Full text of all SAE Technical Papers from 1906 to present as well as SAE Ground Vehicles and Aerospace Standards, both historical and current. Subjects cover all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.

Additional database content includes abstracts to journal articles, magazine articles, conference proceedings, special papers from SAE and other engineering societies.

SpringerLink offers access to book and journal publications. This peer-reviewed research and scholarly content spans a variety of subject areas in science, technology, medicine, humanities, and social sciences.

Must register to use. Click here to register for SciFinder-N.

SciFinder-n features advanced tools that allow users to search articles, patents, companies, and more for information and research about substances. Searches can be performed using criteria such as substance names, keywords, drawings, properties, CAS registry numbers, patent numbers, appearance as a reaction, references, suppliers, etc. Results are curated by Chemical Abstracts Services (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society, from across thousands of journals and other publications.

The SAGE Premier journals collection contains international peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.25 million records of transportation research worldwide.

For transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing "one stop shopping" for transportation data.

Scope TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. It includes Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Genetic Toxicology (Gene-Tox), Tox Town, Household Product Database, Haz-Map, and TOXMAP. In addition it includes TOXLINE, DART/ETIC, Toxics Release Inventory. Finally, TOXNET also includes ChemIDplus.

An industrial search engine that provides one source for finding products, services, or suppliers that buyers and engineers need. ThomasNet also gives buyers direct access to detailed information in order to make a purchasing or specifying decision, including line-item product details, CAD drawings, and more.

An online system for locating and delivering publications by Research and Development scientists in the USDA Forest Service. Publications in the collection include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by our scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. Research results behind these publications have been peer reviewed to ensure the best quality science.

Nationally, USGS surface-water data includes more than 850,000 station years of time-series data that describe stream levels, streamflow (discharge), reservoir and lake levels, surface-water quality, and rainfall. The data are collected by automatic recorders and manual measurements at field installations across the Nation.

Comprehensive database for all types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries (domestic and international). This database does NOT index periodicals at the article level.

Search and browse journals, reference works and books from subject areas including arts, sciences, medicine, engineering, technology, humanities, social and behavioral sciences.

The Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.

Offering a global perspective on wildlife and ecology, this resource indexes academic journals, reports, conference proceedings, magazines, and videos. Major topic areas include studies of diseases, economics, ecotourism, habitat types, hunting, individual species, management techniques, taxonomy, wildlife behavior, zoology and much more. Coverage is from 1975 to the present.