Van Pelt and Opie Library Database A-Z List: P

The USPTO Web Patent Database offers the full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images of each page of every US patent issued since 1790 through the most recent weekly issue date. Search across US patents by number, keyword or classification.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles. Coverage is generally from 1946 - present with selective coverage back to 1809.
Access: While Pubmed is freely available worldwide, our version with HuskyFetch will link you to Michigan Tech subscribed content or to interlibrary loan services.

Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, and more across all areas of philosophy.

Database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.

Search or browse journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and visual and performing arts. Research areas include: history, language and linguistics, philosophy, gender studies, film studies, area and ethnic studies and education. Full-text availability varies between titles.

Provides access to indexing of international literature in psychology, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

Provides combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering multiple subject areas. Includes full text and content from articles, proceedings, newspapers, dissertations, and audio-visual sources.

Full-text journal articles, trade articles, reports, conference proceeding and magazines related to the biological sciences. Broad coverage includes topics related to medicine, technology, and the environment. Also includes microbiology, evolution, immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields.

Extensive collection of materials science and engineering resources Including METADEX. Full-text titles from international scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals and many are indexed in PsycINFO. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare. Includes access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

Bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats.

Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.This collection includes the following sub collections: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA): Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B), COS Conference Papers Index, Ecology Abstracts, Environment Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Impact Statements: Digests, Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text, Health & Safety Science Abstracts, Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A), Pollution Abstracts, Risk Abstracts, Sustainability Science Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE, Water Resources Abstracts

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of 1849 - 1998.