Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Other Library Guides
Select Popular Sources
Below is a list of popular sources that might make good starting points for your research in this course. It is not comprehensive. Depending on your topic, there may be many more in the databases listed below that will have good information you can use!
The above links all go out to the public facing websites of these sources. If you hit an article that you want the full text of and cannot access it, look in the library's catalog or Journals A-Z list to see if we have a subscription to the source. If we do, you can access it through HuskyFetch. If not, you can borrow it via Interlibrary Loan.
Select Databases
If the databases below don't look like they contain quite what you need, go to the Databases page of the library website. Here you can look for other databases by topic.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowContains journals in communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other related fields of study.
-
Humanities Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of scholarly humanities resources and specialized magazines. Covers reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and original works of fiction (including drama and poetry). Major subject areas include:
- Archaeology
- Art
- Classics
- Film
- Folklore
- Journalism
- Linguistics
- Music
- Performing arts
- Philosophy
- Religion
- World history
- World literature.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
Absorbed Artstor's collection of searchable images from museums and archives across the world. Use the Image tab to search; many of these can be used freely in education and research!
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and visual and performing arts. Research areas include: history, language and linguistics, philosophy, gender studies, film studies, area and ethnic studies and education. Full-text availability varies between titles.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering multiple subject areas. Includes full text and content from articles, proceedings, newspapers, dissertations, and audio-visual sources.
-
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to abstracts from a wide assortment of periodicals as far back as 1983. Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
-
Selecting Library ResourcesWhere do you even begin searching for articles, books, and other resources? Learn about the basic research resources that the library offers.
-
Understanding Citations (APA style)Get a quick overview of APA style citation and begin thinking about the reasons why researchers cite.
-
Searching Library DatabasesAdvanced strategies for searching databases.
-
Evaluating ResourcesHow to evaluate the quality of your resources based on purpose, authority, and currency.
-
Primary & Secondary SourcesExamine key differences between primary and secondary sources.
-
More tutorials...Find additional tutorials on using the library catalog, reading call numbers, and renewing materials on the library website