Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Other Library Guides
Find Multimedia
In addition to the resources listed below, several library databases include the option to search for images. Be sure to look for images that you are able to use and/or to cite images you use.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
Absorbed Artstor's collection of searchable images from museums and archives across the world. Use the Image tab to search; many of these can be used freely in education and research!
-
Digital Public Library of AmericaOpenly available resources from libraries, archives, and museums across the world.
-
Creative CommonsSearch for images, videos, and other multimedia that are licensed under Creative Commons (i.e. they are generally free to use as long as you credit the original creator)
-
Internet ArchiveA large collection of images, sounds, music, etc. Be sure to check the copyright status of any individual work you are interested in incorporating into your project. This site also collects old websites through it's "Wayback Machine."
-
Keweenaw Digital ArchivesPhotos from the Copper Country Archives
How do I cite an image?
The basic APA citation style for an image retrieved online is as follows:
Artist Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Title of work [Format]. Retrieved from URL (address of web site)
There are going to be variations if there are multiple artists, no artists, no title, etc. Please take a look at the Purdue OWL or the APA Style Manual for more details.