Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Other Library Guides
Session Materials
Find Multimedia
In addition to the resources listed below, several library databases include the option to search for images. Be sure to look for images that you are able to use and/or to cite images you use.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a collection of over a million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences covering many time periods and cultures. Users can search, view and download images for educational and research purposes.
Access Note: Account needed to download images
- Creative CommonsSearch for images, videos, and other multimedia that are licensed under Creative Commons (i.e. they are generally free to use as long as you credit the original creator)
- Digital Public Library of AmericaResources from libraries, archives, and museums across the world.
- Google PatentsPatent artwork is in the public domain
- Internet ArchiveA large collection of images, sounds, music, etc. Be sure to check the copyright status of any individual work you are interested in incorporating into your project. This site also collects old websites through it's "Wayback Machine."
- Keweenaw Digital ArchivesPhotos from the Copper Country Archives
- PixabayHigh quality public domain images
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of areas of interest or markets. Statistics, industry reports, company dossiers, and forecasts are some of the content available for download in multiple formats. It also offers graphical tools that allow users to manipulate data and create infographics for use in presentations and publications.
How do I cite an image?
The basic APA citation style for an image retrieved online is as follows:
Artist Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Title of work [Format]. Retrieved from URL (address of web site)
There are going to be variations if there are multiple artists, no artists, no title, etc. Please take a look at the Purdue OWL or the APA Style Manual for more details.
The basic MLA citation style for an image retrieved online looks like this:
Artist Last Name, First Name. "Title of the Picture." Title of the Site, Date, URL. Date Accessed.
The in-text citation would look like: (Author's Last Name or "Title of the Picture")
Similarly to APA, there might be variations if there are many artists (or none), no title, etc. Purdue OWL is a great place to start, or you can consult your copy of the MLA Style Guide.
Select Databases
Databases are collections of resources (research articles, book chapters, news sources, etc.) If the databases below don't look like they contain quite what you need, go to the Databases page of the library website. Here you can look for other databases by topic. Some images contain some multimedia.
- Humanities Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics from 1926 to present.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of areas of interest or markets. Statistics, industry reports, company dossiers, and forecasts are some of the content available for download in multiple formats. It also offers graphical tools that allow users to manipulate data and create infographics for use in presentations and publications.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contextual information, research, and opinions on today's social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
