Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Van Pelt and Opie Library is happy to welcome students. This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us if you need further assistance.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Library Session Materials
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
Basic Background Info
Search through these reference sources for brief overviews of an author's life or times. Many also have concise definitions of rhetorical and philosophical terms you may find helpful.
In-Depth Background Info
These sources typically provide a little more depth for topics you might want to explore. For example, you might check them for chapters or longer articles on time periods.
Some are more likely to contain articles that use and apply theories in the ways you are interested in also doing. Many of these articles may also have brief backgrounds of the authors or theories in their introductions that you can use to gather contextual information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive includes the scanned images of over 1128 scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An online collection to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
The following sections of the library may have relevant resources. Look for these numbers on the labels at the end of the shelves. You can find books in the Main Collection and journals (also known as serials or periodicals) on the Garden level.
- B Philosophy
- BC Logic
- BL Religions, Mythology, Rationalism
- P Language and Literature
- P301 Style, Composition, Rhetoric
- P302 Discourse Analysis
- PN Literature (General)
- PN172-239 Technique, Literary Composition, etc.
You can also search the catalog and use the "Subjects" in each record as a jumping off point to find more resources.