Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Chemical Engineering Design Resources Subject Guide!
Course guides are created by Michigan Tech Librarians to help you quickly and easily find relevant library resources for your assignments. Use the tabs above to explore resources. If you need assistance at any point in the research process, please contact a librarian.
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Both links go to Google Drive docs, and you will have to log in with your MTU address to access.
Common Chemistry This link opens in a new window
a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Search by chemical name or CAS Registry Number.
Knovel Chemistry and Chemical Engineering This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text handbooks and technical information in analytical chemistry, catalysis, dispersions & aggregation, electrochemistry, environmental chemistry, industrial chemistry & chemicals, industrial safety, physical chemistry, plant design, polymer chemistry, separation, and transport processes. Specific titles include: Knovel Critical Tables, Yaw's Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds, and Ullmann's Chemical Engineering and Plant Design.
Organic Syntheses This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed experimental methods in a standard format for the synthesis of organic compounds. Also compiles independently checked selected procedures and new reactions which can be used to produce compounds of research utility.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Open access database from the NCBI. Contains chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. Also contains links to scientific literature in another NCBI database, PubMed, links in to chemical information in the HSDB (Hazardous Substance Data Bank) and more.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive information from a wide range of chemistry journals. Users MUST REGISTER TO ACCESS (click on more... below)