Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
J. Robert Van Pelt and John and Ruanne Opie Library

Chemical Engineering Design Resources: Business, Equipment & Production

Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).

Frequently Asked Questions

Top 5 Library FAQ's:

Business & Market Information

Cost & Production Indexes

Building construction cost data - located in the 2nd floor reference collection (TH 435.B9).  Contains various construction related data, including construction and labor costs per hour for various cities.

Indexes for construction, building, and materials costs - Located in recent issues of ENR (Engineering News Record) - TA 1 .E611 in the "construction economics" section.

Marshall & Swift Equipment Cost Index - Located in recent issues of Chemical Engineering (TP1 .C5) in the section marked "Economic Indicators", it also includes Current Business Indicators. Available online in the ABI/Inform database.

Plant Cost Index - Located in recent issues of Chemical Engineering (TP1 .C5) in the section marked "Economic Indicators", it also includes Current Business Indicators. Available online in the ABI/Inform database.

Producer Price Index - from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes PPI information for various commodities.