Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
J. Robert Van Pelt and John and Ruanne Opie Library

EndNote: EndNote with library databases

Guide to EndNote citation software.

Getting Help with EndNote

EndNote.com Support:

Graduate School Support:

Library Support:

Library Presentations

EndNote Software

Michigan Tech licenses EndNote at no charge to all active students, faculty and staff.

Download EndNote

System Requirements (Windows & Mac)

Exporting References from Databases to EndNote

Many databases offer direct linking with EndNote. In most cases, all you need to do is locate either a button or a link to EndNote. If you are using a specific database and you cannot locate how to directly export references to EndNote, please Ask Us!

Exporting References from Google Scholar

Start by changing your Google Scholar settings:

  • Click on Settings > Search results.
  • Under Bibliography Manager, select "Show links to import citations into" and choose EndNote from the dropdown menu.
  • Click save.

  • The next time that you search for articles in Google Scholar, you will see "Import into EndNote" as an option.

Exporting References from Web of Science

Start by searching for your topic in Web of Science.

  • Select the citations you want to add to your EndNote library.
  • Click on the Save to EndNote online dropdown menu and select Save to EndNote desktop.
  • Choose your desired Record Content and click Send.
  • When the dialog box opens, save the .ciw file to your EndNote folder (or choose another location).
  • Click on the file and the reference will automatically open in EndNote or click File > Import, select the .ciw file and choose 
    ISI-CE as the Import Option.
  • Your reference will be added to your EndNote library.

Using EndNote's "Find Full Text" option

To get better access to EndNote's Find Full Text feature, you must change EndNote's "Find Full Text" Preferences:

  • In EndNote, click on Edit > Select Preferences 

Click on Find Full Text and enter the following URLs:

  • OpenURL Path: https://col-mtu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01COL_MTU&vid=01COL_MTU:MTU&
  • Authenticate with URL: https://services.lib.mtu.edu/login?url