LibGuides: MBA Program: Industry Research

Industry Profiles, Analysis, Trends & Codes

Bloomberg.com
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
Federal Reserve - The Beige Book
Provides key information on the economy in the 12 districts as well as an overall summary.
Dun & Bradstreet Analysis
Some information is available freely. Detailed reports are fee-based.
Industry Information Resources
From ValuationResources.com. Links to some freely available industry information and some information that is fee-based.
NAICS Classification
U.S. Department of Commerce site. North American Industry Classification System.
SIC Codes
Standard Industrial Classification. In the United States the SIC code is being supplanted by the six-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS code), which was released in 1997; however certain government departments and agencies, such as the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), still use the SIC codes.

ThomasNet
Vast listing of companies by geographic location, industry and products. Gives the ability to search for suppliers by characteristics such as woman-owned, veteran-owned, African-american owned, etc.

TradeStats Express
U.S. Department of Commerce. International Trade Administration (ITA).
U.S Bureau of Labor - Statistics by Industry
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
key economic and some industry data
U.S. Census Bureau American FactFinder
U.S. Census Bureau Economic Programs
Includes links to the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Manufacturing & Construction, the Economic Census & more!
U.S. Statistical Abstract
National and some regional and state level statistics on all aspects of the US economy and society.

NetMBA Ratios
Ratios allow companies of various sizes to be compared to one another and to industry levels. This link contains information on the calculation and use of key financial ratios.

One Business (ProQuest)
Provides access to scholarly journals, eBooks, trade publications, tax law resources, dissertations and conference proceedings, and videos. Content includes company, industry, and country overviews and reports, business trends, marketing, economic conditions, accounting and finance. This database combines several previously standalone databases including ABI/INFORM, Accounting Tax & Banking, and Asian & European Business.