Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Financials, History, Ratios, Competitors, Stock Information, etc
- Edgar - Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)Source for SEC filings, such as 10K's, 10-Q's, quarterly and annual reports, etc.
- Inc.com 500Compiles many lists related to private companies, such as top companies owned by women, top companies by growth rate, etc.
- ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Vast listing of companies by geographic location, industry and products. Gives the ability to search for suppliers by characteristics such as woman-owned, veteran-owned, African-american owned, etc.
Financial Ratios
- NetMBA RatiosRatios allow companies of various sizes to be compared to one another and to industry levels. This link contains information on the calculation and use of key financial ratios.
Legal, Consumer Product Information
Public vs. Private Companies
The depth of information available on a company is largely dependent on whether it is public or private. Public companies must make their financial information available to the public while private companies are not required to disclose this information. The Library of Congress offers guides on both private and public company research. (Note: The Van Pelt & Opie Library may not have access to all resources detailed on the Library of Congress guides).
Corporate Culture
Search for articles related to various companies and their corporate cultures.
- One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCombines multiple business databases providing access to scholarly journals, eBooks, trade publications, tax law resources, dissertations and conference proceedings, and videos. Company, industry, and country overviews and reports. Information sources in multiple business-related subjects including: business trends, marketing, economic conditions, accounting and finance.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains full-text articles as well as providing product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports, all covering business-related topics including finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing. Full text also includes charts, graphs, photographs and other graphical content.
News Articles
- One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCombines multiple business databases providing access to scholarly journals, eBooks, trade publications, tax law resources, dissertations and conference proceedings, and videos. Company, industry, and country overviews and reports. Information sources in multiple business-related subjects including: business trends, marketing, economic conditions, accounting and finance.