Web of ScienceIEEE XplorePubMedSciFinderJSTORProQuest DatabasesCompendex
This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Searching  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.mtu.edu/citationsearching Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Have a question?

 

Databases with Citation Searching by Discipline

Business

  • ABI/Inform (ProQuest)
  • Accounting & Tax (ProQuest)
  • ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
  • ProQuest Entrepeneurship
  • Web of Science

Humanities

  • JSTOR
  • MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
  • Web of Science

Interdisciplinary

  • Google Scholar
  • JSTOR
  • Web of Science

Science/Engineering

  • Compendex
  • GeoRef (ProQuest)
  • IEEE Xplore
  • Medline (ProQuest)
  • ProQuest Biological Science Collection
  • ProQuest Engineering Collection
  • ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
  • ProQuest Materials Science Collection
  • PubMed
  • Web of Science

Social Sciences

  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
  • ProQuest Psychology Journals
  • PsycINFO (ProQuest)
  • PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
  • Web of Science
 

What is a Citation Search?

With a traditional citation search, you can discover how many times a particular publication has been cited and in what contexts. This may be helpful for:

  • Tracking the use and evolution of a particular idea over time.
  • Faculty members preparing a comprehensive list of their publications and how influential they have been when applying for promotion or tenure.
  • Assessing the relative quality or merit of a publication. Publications cited more frequently are generally more impactful and may be considered more reliable.
 

Citation Searching: General Tips

  • It is important to know that no single source will contain a comprehensive list of citing articles. For example, Web of Science may show 10 citing articles for a publication while Google Scholar shows seven, with only partial overlap between the two. When doing a citation search, look in as many databases as possible to get the most complete list.
  • For authors in the sciences, start with Web of Science, IEEE Xplore (engineering), Compendex (engineering), PubMed (biomedical), and/or SciFinder (chemistry and chemical engineering). You can also try JSTOR, ProQuest, and Google Scholar. More and more databases are tracking citing articles, so check your favorite database(s) too!
  • Researchers in the humanities and social sciences can start with Web of Science (our subscription includes the Social Sciences Index and Arts & Humanities Index) ProQuest, JSTOR, or ABI/Inform (business focus). Try Google Scholar as well. 

Michigan Technological University

Profile Image
Van Pelt and Opie Library
Contact Info
1400 Townsend Dr.
Houghton, MI 49931-1295
(906) 487-2508
Send Email

Suggest a Resource!

If you know of a resource, such as a database with citation searching features, that you think would be helpful to other users of this guide, please click on "Submit" below to tell us about it. Thank you!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip