Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Other Relevant Library Guides
In-Class Resources
Key Resources
Journals
Here are several journals where you may want to begin your search. For a more comprehensive list of journals, visit our Journals A-Z list. Searching for Michigan and limiting your search to "Contains" is a simple and useful way to start!
Please note that the A-Z list only contains titles of journals; it does not search within the journals. To search for articles, you need to select a specific journal and click on it to search within.
- International Journal for the History of Engineering & TechnologyNot exclusive to America, but many articles discuss technology in the USA
Library Databases
Here are a number of databases where you may want to begin your search. For a more targeted list of specific journals, scroll down the page. For a more comprehensive list of databases, visit our Databases A-Z tool. Select Social Sciences from the drop down menu to see a list of databases that collect this type of information.
Please note that the A-Z list only contains titles and descriptions of databases; it does not search within the databases. To search specific articles, you need to select a database and click on it to search within.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Making of Modern Michigan, The This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Extensive photograph and postcard collections, personal papers such as diaries and scrapbooks, oral history interviews, sound and video files, and documentation on local organizations from Michigan. Subjects covered include the Dutch and Polish immigrant communities, the mining and lumbering industries, rural and small-town life, and much more. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and visual and performing arts. Research areas include: history, language and linguistics, philosophy, gender studies, film studies, area and ethnic studies and education. Full-text availability varies between titles.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowDemographic data visualization and research site allows users to generate vector maps in formats including side-by-side, multivariable, swipe maps, street level and satellite views. Data reports and downloads are easily created and exported from current and historical (220+ years) demographic data.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to abstracts from a wide assortment of periodicals as far back as 1983. Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to locate scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports across broad topics.
Access Note: When off-campus, be sure to navigate to Google Scholar from the library's website to appropriately access Michigan Tech's subscription resources.
- Hathi TrustPublic database with millions of digitized archival content. Great tool for finding primary sources. Some sources are available for free on Hathi Trust, others you will have to request through Interlibrary Loan.
- Keweenaw Time Traveler This link opens in a new windowThe Keweenaw Time Traveler is a GIS-based tool that facilitates layered historical research in particular locations throughout Keweenaw, Houghton, and Ontonagon Counties from the 1880s up to the present day. Explore historic maps, learn the names and occupations of the people who owned and occupied historic buildings, track changing equipment at mining locations, and see historic photos from museum and archive collections.
The Patent & Trademark Resource Center at MTU
Check out the Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) at MTU.
Welcome to the PTRC
The Van Pelt and Opie Library at Michigan Technological University is home to the Upper Peninsula's only Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC). Each of the 83+ PTRCs in the nation are part of a nationwide network of public, state, and academic libraries designated by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) to support the public with trademark and patent assistance.
All services are available to the public and to Michigan Tech students, faculty, and staff at no charge.
Services include:
- Appointments for searching help with trained librarians
- Patent and trademark searching workshops
- Books and other informational resources on patents, trademarks, and other intellectual property issues
Make an appointment with our PTRC representative anytime by emailing reflib@mtu.edu.