Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Welcome to the Van Pelt and Opie Library!
This portal is a compilation of information, links, tutorials, and more to help you become a more efficient and effective researcher.
Please don't hesitate to use our Library Help service. You can walk up, call, email, chat or schedule an appointment. We are happy to answer quick questions (Where is this book? How can I get articles on this topic?) and longer questions (How do I effectively evaluate sources? How do I use Zotero?)
The library is here to help you be successful!
Nursing Resources
These resources should work seamlessly on-campus; no separate accounts or logins needed. Off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your ISO user name and password before accessing the resource.
If you don't see a resource that you is critical to your teaching and research, please reach out. We are happy to work with you to ensure that you and your students have the tools you need to be successful!
Databases & Journals (electronic)
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Source of full-text literature in the nursing and allied health fields. Comprising scholarly journals, health care books, and evidence-based care sheets, CINAHL includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators access to abstracts, indexing, and full-text of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of consumer health information from magazines, reference books, and health pamphlets. Provides information on specific diseases and overall health topics such as: fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, and children's health.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support. Materials include scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources. In addition to nursing, subject coverage includes Allied Health, Physical and Occupational Therapies, Physiology, Anatomy, and more.
-
PubMed (MEDLINE/National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed links out to to many sites (including PubMed Central) that provide the full text of articles. Coverage is generally from 1946 - present with selective coverage back to 1809.
Access: While abstracts in Pubmed are freely available worldwide, our version with HuskyFetch will link you to Michigan Tech subscribed content or to interlibrary loan services if the full text is behind a paywall. However, many of the full text links are openly available via PubMed Central (PMC) and similar sites. -
APA PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. Subject coverage includes psychology, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.
-
LearningExpress This link opens in a new windowContains test prep materials for Nursing certification tests.
Print Books
-
Nursing: Scope & Standards of Practice
by
Call Number: Permanent Reserve - Request at Library Circulation Desk ; RT85.5 .N87 2021ISBN: 9780999308868Publication Date: 2021-05-30Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition is an essential document for every nurse. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels. -
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements
by
Call Number: Permanent Reserve - Request at Library Circulation Desk ; RT85 .C63 2015ISBN: 9781558105997Publication Date: 2015-01-01The Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (The Code) was developed as a guide for carrying out nursing responsibilities in a manner consistent with quality in nursing care and the ethical obligations of the profession. -
Guide to nursing's social policy statement : understanding the profession from social contract to social covenant
by
Call Number: Permanent Reserve - Request at Library Circulation Desk ; RT82 .F68 2015ISBN: 9781558106154Publication Date: 2015-07-30Nursing is often called a helping profession: Nursing’s Social Policy Statement is about the many ways that nursing helps others. It is about the relationship—the social contract—between the nursing profession and society and their reciprocal expectations.
