Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Introduction
All across the internet, publishers and creators are making content free for users who suddenly find themselves in new and uncertain circumstances due to COVID-19. We are working to compile links to content that we think the Michigan Tech community will find helpful for their classes, lives, and entertainment. This guide will evolve and change over time. Instructors - these links can be embedded into your Canvas page. Please contact us with any questions or suggestions.
Temporary Free Academic Resources
In response to increased remote access research and educational needs, various publishers have granted increased access to subscription or purchase-based materials for a limited time. When possible, the library is compiling these resources into linked Collections in our catalog for easy browsing. Other links point directly to the publisher sites. We appreciate it if you would use the links the library provides as this allows us to collect aggregated data on resource usage and needs.
- Collected Library CollectionsBrowse temporary collections from ScienceDirect ebooks, Project Muse ebooks, University of Michigan, MIT Press, JSTOR, Newspaper Archive and more via the library catalog.
- Annual ReviewsAnnual Reviews synthesizes research across a wide range of disciplines. They have made their entire collection freely available through April 30.
- RedShelfRedShelf has partnered with several major publishers including Routledge/Taylor & Francis and Wiley to provide students with up to 7 free ebooks through May 25.
Resources for Instructors
Numerous publishers and online learning platforms have granted increased access to their materials and resources through the end of the semester in order to ease the transition to online teaching. In several cases, instructors need to set up class wide access. More info via the links below. Please contact the library if you need help navigating the publisher's site or the Center for Teaching and Learning if you need additional assistance with online learning.
- Cengage UnlimitedCengage is providing free access to all digital platforms and e-books through the end of the semester.
- JoVE Science EducationJoVE's Science Education collection is available to all through 6/15. This collection contains a multitude of videos demonstrating scientific fundamentals and lab techniques. This link will take you to the library's temporary collection so you can sign in for increased access.
- McGraw Hill Online Learning PlatformsMcGraw-Hill's learning platforms Connect and ALEKS will be available for instructors and students through the end of the semester. Interested instructors should contact McGraw-Hill to set up class access. More info in link.
- Penguin Desk & Exam CopiesDesk and Exam copies of textbooks will now be e-book versions rather than shipped physical copies.
- Bloomberg Market ConceptsInstructors may request class access for free BMC Education access for the remainder of the semester.
Acknowledgements
Numerous organizations and librarians across the US have been hard at work compiling publisher information over the last several weeks. Many thanks to those that made their work freely available. Much of what you can find on this page has been pulled from the following sources:
University Information Policy Officers (2020). Vendor Love in the Time of COVID-19, available at https://tinyurl.com/vendorsupportedaccess
Simas, S., & Juskuv, R.. (2020). Publisher Access Changes, COVID-19, available at https://docs.google.com/document/d/1SqjcSrRPPNpPj7K4B1pUQdCbznSIyLznPKGd4dZwJ6s/edit#