Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Other Guides
- Applied Ecology and Environmental Science
- Forestry
- FW2010 & FW5020 - Vegetation of North America/Identification and Biology of Forest Vegetation
- FW3760 SS3760 Human Dimensions of Natural Resources
- SS3630 Environmental Policy & Politics / SS5300 Environmental & Energy Policy
- SS3760 Human Dimensions of Natural Resources
Library Session Materials
Journals
Journals are published periodically throughout a year and contain articles on a specific topic. The journals below all focus very specifically on the intersection of environmental science and society.
- Society & natural resourcesFull-text coverage from 1988-present.
- Environment and BehaviorFull-text coverage 1969-present (choose the first link - Sage - for the most extensive coverage).
- Environmental ManagementFull-text coverage 1997-present.
- Human Dimensions of WildlifeFull-text coverage from 1996-present.
- Human Ecology ReviewFull-text coverage 1993-2009.
- Journal of Environment & DevelopmentFull-text coverage from 1999-present.
- Natural Resources JournalAvailable Online. Focus on environmental law.
- Population and EnvironmentInterdisciplinary research. Full-text coverage from 1997-present.
Google Scholar
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this link for Google Scholar and it will recognize you as a Michigan Tech user. Along the right side of your results list will be a HuskyFetch link that you can use to either access full text within our databases or request the full text from interlibrary loan. Google Scholar searches many resources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and more. It can be a good place to start your research and cast a wide search net.
Databases
Databases are collections of journal articles, newspapers, magazines, technical reports, images, and more on a particular topic. They are typically more broad in coverage than a single journal might be and so are great places to start your research.
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFind citations & abstracts of articles on all types of animals as well as related social science topics (economics, management, ecotourism, etc.)
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles, trade articles, reports, conference proceeding and magazines related to the biological sciences. Broad coverage includes topics related to medicine, technology, and the environment. Also includes microbiology, evolution, immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals, articles, reports, conference proceedings, books, and government documents all dealing with environmental science topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive includes the scanned images of over 1128 scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines including: Biology, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Health, History, Life sciences, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of social sciences articles across a wide range of topics.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
Browsing Print
The following sections of the library may have relevant resources. Look for these numbers on the labels at the end of the shelves. You can find books on the third floor and journals (also known as serials or periodicals) on the Garden level.
- GE Environmental Sciences
- K3581 Envionmental Law
- S Agriculture
- SF Animal Culture
- SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
- SK Hunting Sports (includes)
- sk351-579 Wildlife management
- SK590-593 Wild animal trade
- SK650-664 Wildlife-related recreation
You can also search the catalog and use the "Subjects" in each record as a jumping off point to find more resources.