Graduate Student Resources and Services

How do I borrow materials from the Michigan Tech library and how long can I keep them?

• Your HuskyCard allows you to borrow materials from our Main Collection for 15 weeks with up to 3, 15-week renewals allowed. Faculty may borrow periodicals for up to 3 days. See our Circulation page for loan periods for additional types of materials.

Can I have library materials delivered to my office?

• Yes. Books and other circulating resources can be delivered through campus mail to any campus location. To use our Document Delivery service, login to your interlibrary loan account and place a request for Books/Media, etc.

What is the proxy service?

• ​The Van Pelt and Opie library offers a proxy service for faculty and persons with disabilities (including temporary) who are affiliated with Michigan Technological University. A library proxy may do the following:
  • Borrow, renew and recall items from the Van Pelt and Opie library collection
  • Place interlibrary loan requests for articles or physical materials
  • Pick up materials on hold from the Circulation Desk
  • Request renewals on interlibrary loan (ILL) borrowed items

How do I designate a proxy?

• Simply complete the Proxy Service Form.

How do I change my proxy?

• Please notify the library of any proxy changes by sending an email to ill@mtu.edu.

What is interlibrary loan?

• The library's Interlibrary Loan service enables patrons to obtain materials not held by the Van Pelt and Opie Library, including books and other physical materials, as well as electronic copies of journal articles and papers. The library offers two ways to borrow materials: MeLCat (Michigan eLibrary) and our ILL system.

What is the difference between the Interlibrary Loan system and MeLCat?

• Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request PDFs of journal articles, conference papers, and book chapters. Books not available through MeLCat can also be requested. ILL is available for all Michigan Tech faculty, enrolled students, staff, and emeriti. 
• Use MeLCat (The Michigan eLibrary) to request books and media. MeLCat is recommended for borrowed items due to the shorter delivery time and longer loan periods. Patrons with an active HuskyCard or Courtesy Borrowing Card may use MeLCat. See MelCat Help for details on how to use this service.

How long does it take to receive an article via interlibrary loan?

• Most requests are delivered within 10 hours.

But I need this article ASAP!

• 4-hour rush service is available for all faculty. Select RUSH when placing a request through Interlibrary Loan.

I would like the library to consider purchasing a book or resource that supports my research or teaching. Who can I contact?

• Please Recommend a purchase.

Where can I find a complete list of Library Forms and Requests for services such as the Course Reserve Request Form, Request for Library Instruction, and Request a Standard?

• Library Forms and Requests.

How do I access journals and databases from off-campus?

• Authentication with your username and ISO password is required for accessing library subscriptions from off-campus. Either login first on our authentication page or navigate to journal articles and databases through our Journals or Databases A-Z tabs, located on the main library page. You will be prompted to enter your Michigan Tech username and ISO password.

I will be on sabbatical next year, will I still have access to Michigan Tech library resources?

• Yes. The majority of the library’s online journals, databases, and e-books are available from off-campus. To access many of these resources, you must login with your Michigan Tech username and ISO password as described above.

A colleague mentioned that they were able to get borrowing privileges and on-site collection access at another great research library. How does that work?

• Michigan Tech faculty have access to the OCLC Reciprocal Faculty Borrowing Program, which allows you to access the collections of participating libraries throughout North America. Visit the Library's Circulation Desk to obtain a Reciprocal Faculty Borrowing Program card.