CH2411 Session 1
In the first CH2411 library session, students will be introduced to key resources for selecting and doing preliminary research on a compound and comparing the differences between sources. They will then use these resources to complete an in-class lab on finding chemical information.
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Downloading ChemDraw
To download a student copy of ChemDraw to your laptop or home computer:
Option 1: Launch ChemOffice via AppsAnywhere
Option 2: Download via IT's Software Distribution Center
- Visit: https://downloads.it.mtu.edu/ and select ChemDraw from their list of available software
- Follow all instructions on the IT site to download. Please read carefully - you will need to activate the software using IT's code.
- You will need to create an account in order to download the software.
ChemDraw Tutorials
NOTE: You may need to pause and restart the video after it has played for 1-2 seconds. The sound doesn't always start correctly, but this resolves the issue!
CH2411 - Session 1 Resources
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowProvides information that will help you gain an understanding of your target compound. It includes substance information, compound structures, BioActivity data, and links to articles in the PubMed database. For SMILES searching, make the following PubChem selections: Structure Search > Identity/Similarity > CID,SMILES, InChi > (enter your SMILES notation) > [Search].
- Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsThis index includes 10,000+ entries describing chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. Entries include the Chemical Abstracts Registry Number, alternate names, molecular formula, physical data, therapeutic category, literature references, and more. Info is organized by Name, Formula, Therapeutic Category and Biological Activity, and Registry Numbers.
Available on Permanent Reserve at the Library Service Center
- MSDSonline (Materials Safety Data Sheets) This link opens in a new windowThe MSDSonline database contains digital copies of the materials safety data sheets for chemicals being used at the University. This database is provided by the Office of Compliance, Integrity, & Safety in the Research division of Michigan Tech. Access requires MTU SSO.
- Knovel Chemistry and Chemical Engineering This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text handbooks and technical information in analytical chemistry, catalysis, dispersions & aggregation, electrochemistry, environmental chemistry, industrial chemistry & chemicals, industrial safety, physical chemistry, plant design, polymer chemistry, separation, and transport processes. Specific titles include: Knovel Critical Tables, Yaw's Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds, and Ullmann's Chemical Engineering and Plant Design.
PubChem - Part 2 SMILES Notation
CCN(CC)CC(=O)NC1=C(C=CC=C1C)C
Additional Resources
- ChemExperOpen access database of chemicals with their physical characteristics.
- eMoleculesSearch engine for chemical molecules.
- Safety Data Sheet SearchA free & comprehensive search of safety data sheets. Includes some not available via the Michigan Tech version of MSDS.