Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Library Session Materials
Endnote
-
EndNote GuideCheck out our library guide on EndNote.
-
EndNote WorkshopsDuring the Spring semester, the library will have EndNote workshops on March 7 and March 29, both at 5pm. Click here to access the library workshops page and register!
Key Resources
Below are a number of key resources you may find helpful during the course of your research. Use the Database A-Z list to find additional databases in a given field and Browzine to explore journals.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
Absorbed Artstor's collection of searchable images from museums and archives across the world. Use the Image tab to search; many of these can be used freely in education and research!
-
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and detailed references to global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology are available. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
-
GeoRef (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of geoscience literature established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966. Coverage of North America geology resources begins with 1669 with worldwide coverage beginning with from 1933. The database provides references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and relevant master's theses and doctoral dissertations from the United States and Canada. Also included is access to the GeoRef In Process database, which provides references to new publications not yet included in GeoRef and older materials from international geoscience organizations.
-
Climate Data Online This link opens in a new windowContains the National Climatic Data Center's archive of historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals. The NCDC is a part of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce's National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
Access note: to access datasets you may need to put them in a "cart" on the site. However, there is not a charge when you check out this cart.
Quick Refresh on Strategic Search
Key Google (Scholar) Operators
- site:.gov -- finds anything with .gov as part of the site name
- intext:coral -- finds sites with the word coral in the text
- intext:(coral news) -- use ( ) to group words with one command
- "press release" -- " " to group words into exact phrases
- OR -- between synonyms (use parentheses in a combo string!)
- -reef -- use - to exclude a word
Key Database Operators
- Use AND and OR to find keywords and synonyms
- Use advanced search to search in just abstracts, titles, authors, etc. and for specific document types
- Use the Database A-Z list to select a topic-specific database