Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Library Session Materials
- Session SlidesReview Information from the library session for this course
Key Resources
Using Artificial Intelligence
Check out our guide on all things to do with AI. Find tips on how to use generative AI as a students on this guide. Stick to the second tab for 'Students' to learn the ins and outs of ethically using AI to work on literature reviews and other assignments.
Created and maintained by the Van Pelt and Opie Library, Center for Teaching and Learning, and Office of Academic Integrity
Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of areas of interest or markets. Statistics, industry reports, company dossiers, and forecasts are some of the content available for download in multiple formats. It also offers graphical tools that allow users to manipulate data and create infographics for use in presentations and publications.
- GlobalEDGE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. - ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a searchable database of research data in the social and political sciences. Includes education, urban studies, economic behavior, government structure and policy, health care, political and organizational behavior, and more.
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.
Citation Management Tools
Citation managers allow you to store, sort, and edit references to articles you find. They then connect to word processing tools in order to automatically generate citation lists for you. The library provides resources and support (guides, consultations, & workshops) for EndNote and Zotero.
- Zotero Library Guide
Zotero is Open Source software. Users can download a browser extension to allow for quick saving documents to a Zotero library as they work. It works well with Word and has some functionality with Google Docs.
- EndNote Library Guide
EndNote is available via the IT Download Center and is installed on most campus computers. The standalone program can be synced across computers via EndNote Web. It works very well with Word and the company has just released both an app (iOS only) and a browser extension.