Streaming Video Resources

Streaming Video Collections

The library subscribes to a variety of platforms which provide streaming video for use both inside and outside of classroom settings within the context of academic instruction, education, and research. While many of the library's licensed resources include audiovisual materials, streaming video is of particular prominence in Digital Theatre Plus, Kanopy, and Swank Digital Campus.

Finding Licensed Streaming Videos

Streaming videos which have been licensed by the library can be found either by searching the library's catalog or by utilizing the internal search functionalities of a particular platform. For databases which contain multiple format types (including the library's catalog), searches can be limited to streaming video by filtering the search results by the desired resource type or by limiting the search to the desired format within the advanced search settings.

Videos that are not part of a larger collection but which have been individually licensed by the library can also be found listed in the library's Streaming Videos featured collection interface.

Requesting Streaming Videos To Be Licensed

If a desired video is not already licensed by the library for streaming, faculty who would like to utilize streaming videos as part of a course being taught have the ability to submit a Recommend a Purchase form. Depending on budget and demand, most requests for videos available on the Kanopy or Swank Digital Campus platforms are able to be accommodated. Due to licensing or access restrictions, the library may or may not be able to acquire streaming rights for videos available through other platforms.

License Terms

All videos on Digital Theatre Plus are included in the library's license. Public performance rights are also included as part of the library's subscription, so content may be viewed in communal settings outside of the classroom as long as the organizers do not commercially benefit from the showings.

Access Note: Log into the platform with a valid @mtu.edu email and credentials to access content when not connected to the campus network.

License Terms

Each video on Kanopy is licensed individually by the library. Most of the library's subscriptions include public performance rights which allow the video to be screened in group settings outside of the classroom as long as admission is not charged. Titles for which public performance rights have been obtained will include the PPR icon  on the details page listed after the runtime. Titles without this icon are exclusively for academic use, individual streaming, and course integration.

Requesting Titles

At this time, requests for videos on Kanopy are limited to instructors using streaming video for educational and class use. Requests can be made either by completing the library's Recommend a Purchase form or by submitting a request directly through the Kanopy platform.

Through the Recommend a Purchase Form:

Select "Video" from the Type of Material dropdown on the form and provide as many other details as possible to ensure prompt and accurate licensing. Requests are evaluated based on costs and demonstrated teaching and research needs.

Through the Kanopy Platform:

License Terms

Each video on Swank Digital Campus is licensed individually by the library. This content is exclusively for academic use, individual streaming, and course integration; public performance rights are not included in the library's subscription.

Requesting Titles

At this time, requests for videos on Swank Digital Campus are limited to instructors using streaming video for educational and class use. Requests can be made either by completing the library's Recommend a Purchase form or by submitting a request directly through the Swank Digital Campus platform while logged in as an instructor.

Through the Recommend a Purchase Form:

Select "Video" from the Type of Material dropdown on the form and provide as many other details as possible to ensure prompt and accurate licensing. Requests are evaluated based on costs and demonstrated teaching and research needs.

Through the Swank Digital Campus Platform:

In addition to streaming video licensed by the library, there are many collections which have been made freely available online. Some of those collections include, but are certainly not limited to:

American Archive of Public Broadcasting: The AAPB Online Reading Room provides online access to historic public broadcasting radio and television programs which have been digitized and preserved for private research, educational and informational purposes.

American Indian Film Gallery: The AIFG is an online collection documenting Native lifeways through films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald.

Folkstreams: Online access to a collection independent documentary films which preserve and contextualize American folklife. Films may be streamed by individuals; for rights to stream a film in class, contact Folkstreams.

Internet Archive Moving Image Archive: A library of movies and videos uploaded to the Internet Archive for free and open use. Includes both public domain and copyrighted works such as classic film, new broadcasts, concerts, etc.

Library of Congress Film and Videos: Streaming films, personal narratives, presentations, and other videos provided by the Library of Congress. Includes videos from the American Folklife Center and selections from the National Film Registry among other collections.

Media Burn: A collection which preserves and distributes documentaries, journalistic work, and experimental videos by artists, activists, non-profits, and community groups with a strong focus on politics, culture, activism, and sports.

National Film Board of Canada: Collection of streaming documentaries, animation, and cinema from the NFB. Not all content is available for streaming in the United States. Films may be streamed by individuals; classroom use requires additional licensing.

Netflix Educational Documentaries: YouTube playlist from Netflix of selected educational documentaries. Also links to a list of films licensed for classroom use on the Netflix platform.

Office of Scientific and Technical Information Video/Audio (previously DOE ScienceCinema): Video and audio files including conference recordings, promotional videos, research recordings, and interviews from DOE research facilities and CERN.

TED Talks: Short, informative presentations by experts on a wide variety of topics intended to share ideas and generate debate through respectful engagement, accuracy, and transparency.