Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Library Session Materials
Advanced Search Strategy: Boolean Operators (copied from slide for legibility!)
APA PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to indexing of international literature in psychology, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
APA PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals and many are indexed in PsycINFO. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare. Includes access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
PubMed (MEDLINE/National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles. Coverage is generally from 1946 - present with selective coverage back to 1809.
Access: While Pubmed is freely available worldwide, our version with HuskyFetch will link you to Michigan Tech subscribed content or to interlibrary loan services.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database with broad content coverage in engineering, the sciences, social sciences, medicine, arts and humanities. Content from journals, conference proceedings, patents and books. Search by keyword, title, author affiliation and view analyses of researcher or research group impact. Supports ORCID author ID.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to locate scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports across broad topics.
Access Note: When off-campus, be sure to navigate to Google Scholar from the library's website to appropriately access Michigan Tech's subscription resources.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering multiple subject areas. Includes full text and content from articles, proceedings, newspapers, dissertations, and audio-visual sources.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Contains reliable information resources selected by respective government agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included: selected authoritative science Web sites; and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings and other published materials.