Open Data Sources

Data.gov is the U.S. federal government's search portal for open data produced by United States' agencies and departments.

Search engine for public data across multiple disciplines and agencies.

UNdata is comprised of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. Each "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labor market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

Though this search engine isn't strictly for open data, users are able to refine search results with the "Free" filter to obtain a list of datasets that may be accessed without a fee. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

United Nations FAO global information system on water resources and agricultural water management. This service collects, analyses and provides free access to over 180 variables and indicators by country from 1960.

A center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University, CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, and society; natural systems; climate, energy, and transportation; food and agriculture; and economy and policy.

The Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG) provides access to the Environmental Protection Agency's Open Data resources. The EDG contains metadata records contributed by EPA Regions, Program Offices, and Research Laboratories that links to geospatial and non-geospatial resources (e.g., data, Web services, or applications). Data can be filtered by region.

Search data and datasets on global weather. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available.

Search for and discover data from across the Department of the Interior.

The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering numerous aspects of U.S. agriculture, including production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers.

Provides access to datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues from select World Resources Institute websites and publications.

DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Major statistical data sources on disability in the United States.

Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.

The Human Development Report Office releases five composite indices each year: the Human Development Index (HDI), the Inequality-Adjusted Human Development Index (IHDI), the Gender Development Index (GDI), the Gender Inequality Index (GII), and the Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI). Data used in these indices and other human development indicators included here are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of the human development report.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Download options include ASCII, ASCII+, SAS, SPSS, Stata. Note: Some data is only available to members, but some is freely available to everyone with a MyData account. Creating a MyData account is free and does not require you to be associated with an ICPSR member institution.

US census data for social, economic, and health research. IPUMS USA collects, preserves, and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.

PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics, through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center, compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system’. Various statistics can be generated from the data available in the areas of federal law enforcement, prosecution/courts and incarcerations.

UNdata is comprised of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. Each "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).

As required by the Budget Act, CBO regularly publishes projections of budgetary and economic outcomes that are based on the assumption that current laws about federal spending and revenues will generally remain in place.

Provides the latest comprehensive financial and demographic data for every FDIC-insured institution. Annual and summary of financial and structural data for all FDIC-insured institutions since 1934. Data warehouse that organizes various types of bank and holding company data used in analyzing industry conditions and aiding in the development of corporate policy.

The FCC manages and licenses the electromagnetic spectrum for commercial and non-commercial users including state, county, and local governments in the United States. This includes public safety, fixed and mobile wireless services, broadcast television and radio, satellite, and other services.

FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, is an online database consisting of hundred of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.

A Database of International Business Statistics with over 5000 variables from over 200 countries. Data available from mid-1990s to present. (Free registration is required to access datasets).

Search database of the International Labour Organization of the UN.

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.

The ICT Data and Analytics (IDA) Division is part of ITU's Digital Knowledge Hub Department within the Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT). One of the core activities of the Division is the collection, verification and harmonization of telecommunication/ICT statistics for about 200 economies worldwide.

The IRS Tax Statistics website provides access to a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.

Provides access to economic research findings. NBER-affiliated researchers study a wide range of topics and they employ many different methods in their work. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.

Search multiple OECD databases, access datasets pertaining to economic situations in developing countries.

Public-use data files are subsets of survey or administrative data that are released to the public with all identifying information removed. Statistical publications give a broad overview of the scope of the Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance and Supplemental Security Income programs.

Provides the latest annual and quarterly U.S. national and state trade data. Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print, and download customized outputs.

BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.

The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), part of the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), provides statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, as well as context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.

EDGAR is the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system used at the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). EDGAR is the primary system for submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file information with the SEC. It contains millions of company and individual filings.

The official source for spending data (over $25,000) for the U.S. Government. You can track money from Congressional appropriations to the federal agencies and down to local communities and businesses.

Explore data about individual public libraries, state library agencies, museums, grants, attittudes towards libraries, and library & museum funding.

Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.

The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES collects, collates, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education.

Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories

ESMAP is a partnership between the World Bank and 18 partners to help low and middle-income countries reduce poverty and boost growth through sustainable energy solutions. Explore data on environmentally sustainable energy programs in developing countries.

Access monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries through JODI, an international collaboration improving the availability and reliability of data on petroleum and natural gas.

NEA, an intergovernmental agency, facilitates co-operation among countries with advanced nuclear technology infrastructures to seek excellence in nuclear safety, technology, science, environment and law. Access both experimental and evaluated nuclear data, including nuclear reaction and nuclear structure data.

Independent statistics and analysis. Covers energy related data, tools, and informational sheets.

Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.

Access a series of annual compilations of internationally comparable statistics summarizing world energy trends.

Provides datasets on energy, climate, forests, water, & sustainability.

The National Center for Health Statistics collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical examinations and laboratory testing. The compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the population.

Multiple databases including some datasets on drug approvals, shortages, generics, bioresearch and more from the U.S. Federal Drug Administration.

Searchable human health data from Global Health Observatory arm of the World Health Organization (WHO).

Kaggle offers a no-setup, customizable, Jupyter Notebooks environment. Access free GPUs and a huge repository of community published data & code.

Access nearly 500 datasets maintained as a service to the machine learning community.