Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Library Session Materials
Zotero
Zotero is a great citation management tool that can be used to organize, collect, and cite the sources you are using. Below are a few key takeaways from the library session.
- Download Zotero Standalone & Browser Connector
- Create a "New Collection" in Zotero
- Find sources! These can be papers, images, websites, and much more.
- Add Sources to your Collection:
- Use the "Add Item" icon in the Standalone program to add manually
- Use the browser icon to add a source quickly
- Download a citation and use the "Add Item" icon in Standalone (Use the RIS file format)
- Attach PDFs (if not done automatically)
- Update metadata (tags, article info, etc.) to improve organization
Visit our Zotero Library Guide for additional in-depth information on the software.
Advanced Google Scholar & Other Freely Available Sources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWhen off campus, you can use the library's link to Google Scholar to gain access to the full text resources Tech subscribes to. Alternatively, you can add the "J. Robert Van Pelt and John and Ruanne Opie Library" to your Library Links under the Settings option of Google Scholar.
- Advanced Google Search OperatorsUse these operators to refine your search.
Not listed in the above link (reminder - you can add all to the beginning of each of these!):
intitle:
intext:
inURL:
- MatWeb Material Property Data This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of material properties. Includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
General Search Tips:
- Remember that key word selection is critical, especially in Google Scholar
- Effective advanced searching is an iterative, exploratory process
- Use citations and reference pages to your advantage to find additional resources, important publications, etc.!
Other Resources
- ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Database This link opens in a new windowDatabase allows users to explore, search and view more than 40,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data including reactions and structures for inorganic systems. Tools include downloadable custom data reports, a density converter, temperature converter and atomic / weight percentage converter.
- ASM Materials Information This link opens in a new windowASM Materials Information platform provides access to the complete ASM Handbooks Online and ASM Alloy Center Database. Including datasheets & diagrams, alloy finder, materials property data, coatings data, corrosion performance data, and failure analysis.
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of materials science and engineering resources Including METADEX. Full-text titles from international scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.