Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Van Pelt and Opie Library is happy to welcome students. This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us if you need further assistance.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
Great Starting Resources
These databases cover a wide range of topics and source types. Read each description to see which one might fit most closely with your research needs.
One Business (ProQuest)
Combines multiple business databases providing access to scholarly journals, eBooks, trade publications, tax law resources, dissertations and conference proceedings, and videos. Company, industry, and country overviews and reports. Information sources in multiple business-related subjects including: business trends, marketing, economic conditions, accounting and finance.
Provides access to news, business, and legal information. News content is pulled from major national and international news sources; business content includes profiles and news; and legal information includes cases and associated coverage. Previously LexisNexis.
Statista provides direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of areas of interest or markets. Statistics, industry reports, company dossiers, and forecasts are some of the content available for download in multiple formats. It also offers graphical tools that allow users to manipulate data and create infographics for use in presentations and publications.
Searches across numerous US government websites and agencies. Useful if you're looking for legal or government information.
Not finding exactly what you need? The library has many more resources you can explore:
Database A-Z List
A comprehensive list of databases that the library offers. Sort this list by subject area and select the database that offers content on your topic.
Search the library's collection of books, journals, documents, and more. The catalog will point you towards both physical resources in the library and electronic resources you can access from home.
Additional Subject & Course Guides
In addition to course guides, the library produces broader subject guides that contain links to resources that are particularly useful for that subject. Depending on your topic, another course's guides or a subject guide might be a great place to start your research!