Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Class Materials
External Writing Websites
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
From the Engineeering Department at Penn State
Professional Technical Writing
From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University
Better Writing Guide
From Oxford University Press. More general writing tips, not geared towards the sciences.
Scientific Writing Resource
From the Duke University Graduate School
Recommended Databases
Below are some engineering databases where you can find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and standards. For additional resources, please visit the library's Database A-Z list and Catalog.
-
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Online or mobile access to over 200 engineering sources including the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, PE exam study for civil engineering and other ebooks (also individually cataloged in our catalog). Tools include data visualization, spreadsheets, and solution walkthroughs.
Access Note: Accept cookies to maintain access to the database when your mobile device is not connected to Michigan Tech's network. -
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowFull coverage of ASME journal content from 2000 to present. Searching and access to limited content (abstracts and citations) for journals from 1960 through 1999, conference proceedings from 1956 to present and ebooks from 1993 to present are also available in this collection.
-
Engineering Village Compendex This link opens in a new window
Database includes extensive indexing and abstracts of scholarly and technical engineering and applied science literature. Sources comprise of journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and preprints. Includes historical research from Engineering Index (1884-1969) as well as contemporary findings and innovations.
-
Taylor & Francis eBooks (Contains CRCnetBASE) This link opens in a new windowAccess a vast collection of ebooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science, including the CRC Engineering Handbooks that were formerly available through CRCnetBase. Individual CRCnetBASE titles are also discoverable through the Search tab on the library’s homepage.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text journal articles, conference proceedings and standards published by IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). Select legacy content dating back to 1950 is also included.
-
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of materials science and engineering resources Including METADEX. Full-text titles from international scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.
-
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowFull text of all SAE Technical Papers from 1906 to present as well as SAE Ground Vehicles and Aerospace Standards, both historical and current. Subjects cover all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Additional database content includes abstracts to journal articles, magazine articles, conference proceedings, special papers from SAE and other engineering societies. -
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
