Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Start Your Research
Start your research by finding background information on models, equations, history, mathematical methods and more.
- CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematicsThe CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references.
Available online - Getting started with MATLAB 7 / a quick introduction for scientists and engineersFamiliarizes users with MATLAB in just a few hours though self-guided lessons, and also discusses new features and applications in MATLAB 7.
Main Collection - Third Floor
Q183.9 .P733 2006
Key Resources
These resources go into more depth and detail on a wide range of math topics.
Databases
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowA searchable Web database produced by the American Mathematical Society.
- ArXiv This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides e-prints submitted by registered authors in a variety of sub-disciplines, including mathematics. - Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a variety of applied science specialties.
- Engineering Village Compendex This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a variety of engineering disciplines.
Journals
- Advances in Applied MathematicsAvailable online and in the library from 1985-Present.
Serials Collection-Garden Level
QA1 .A188 - Journal of Applied Mathematics and MechanicsAvailable online and in the library from 1958-Present.
Serials Collection-Garden Level
QA801 .P9 - Mathematical ProgrammingAvailable online and in the library.
Serials Collection-Garden Level
QA264 .M33
Books
- Handbook of mathematicsAvailable online
- Dictionary of applied math for engineers and scientistsAvailable online
ENGnetBASE
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.