Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
J. Robert Van Pelt and John and Ruanne Opie Library

Library Liaisons

Library Liaison Roles

Library liaisons are faculty who work directly with the library's Collection Team to communicate the the library's initiatives, resources and services to their departmental colleagues and provide invaluable feedback from the departments to the library. Designed to not be a time intensive role, a liaison typically:

  • Is familiar with the various research that is occurring within their department
  • Is familiar with classes being offered within their department
  • Is interested in being an advocate for their department, ensuring relevant material is acquired for the department by the library 
  • Is willing to help field questions about library-related resources when they arise
  • Is willing to meet with the Collections Team annually or as needed to discuss their department's library needs

Liaisons by Department

Department / College Name Email
Air Force ROTC contact the library library@mtu.edu
Army ROTC contact the library library@mtu.edu
Biological Sciences Mike Gretz mrgretz@mtu.edu
Biomedical Engineering Cory Dompier cfdompie@mtu.edu
Chemical Engineering Faith Morrison fmorriso@mtu.edu
Chemistry contact the library library@mtu.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering Stan Vitton vitton@mtu.edu
Cognitive & Learning Sciences Kedmon Hungwe khungwe@mtu.edu
College of Business Jun Min jmin@mtu.edu
College of Computing (includes Applied Computing and Computer Science) C.K. Shene shene@mtu.edu
College of Forest Resources & Environmental Sciences contact the library library@mtu.edu
Electrical & Computer Engineering Hongyu An hongyua@mtu.edu
Engineering Fundamentals contact the library library@mtu.edu
Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences Radwin Askari raskari@mtu.edu
Humanities Andy Fiss afiss@mtu.edu
Kinesiology & Integrative Physiology Kyle Bolen kabolen@mtu.edu
Manufacturing & Mechanical Engineering Technology Nicholas Hendrickson nvhendri@mtu.edu
Materials Science & Engineering Peter Moran pdmoran@mtu.edu
Mathematical Sciences Cecile Piret cmpiret@mtu.edu
Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Trisha Sain tsain@mtu.edu
Physics Raymond Shaw rashaw@mtu.edu
Social Sciences Sarah Scarlett sfscarle@mtu.edu
Visual & Performing Arts Michael Christianson mchristi@mtu.edu