Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Van Pelt and Opie Library is happy to welcome students. This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us if you need further assistance.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
The following databases and websites all have slightly different focuses. Some will have more info about populations and demographics, while others will have sources that focus more heavily on scholarly sources (original research) or credible news and data.
Library's Basic Search
This is a good place to start your research. Starting with a simple search for "homelessness" will retrieve numerous articles that begin to dig into causes and prevalence. As you learn more, add additional keywords and narrow your search to peer reviewed articles as appropriate!
Michigan Tech Authored Collection
A collection of books authored or edited by Michigan Tech faculty and staff.
Digital Commons @ Michigan Tech
The university's digital repository, offering worldwide access to research, educational resources, scholarship, campus publications and other creative works by members of the Michigan Tech community.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business, and legal information. News content is pulled from major national and international news sources; business content includes profiles and news; and legal information includes cases and associated coverage.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Open full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Includes articles from participating journals and authors’ manuscripts submitted in compliance with funding agency requirements.
A portal to government resources. Searches across numerous .gov websites.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.