Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
In-Class Resources
Library Search & Databases
- Library's Basic SearchThis is a good place to start your research. Starting with a simple search for "homelessness" will retrieve numerous articles that begin to dig into causes and prevalence. As you learn more, add additional keywords and narrow your search to peer reviewed articles as appropriate!
The following databases all have slightly different focuses. If none quite meet your needs, jump over to the Databases A-Z list and sort by source for more databases.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld's industry research reports offer the latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, and more.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering multiple subject areas. Includes full text and content from articles, proceedings, newspapers, dissertations, and audio-visual sources.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowOpen full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Includes articles from participating journals and authors’ manuscripts submitted in compliance with funding agency requirements.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowDemographic data visualization and research site allows users to generate vector maps in formats including side-by-side, multivariable, swipe maps, street level and satellite views. Data reports and downloads are easily created and exported from current and historical (220+ years) demographic data.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of areas of interest or markets. Statistics, industry reports, company dossiers, and forecasts are some of the content available for download in multiple formats. It also offers graphical tools that allow users to manipulate data and create infographics for use in presentations and publications.
- USA.govA portal to government resources. Searches across numerous .gov websites.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowIncludes all NYT articles from regular & International editions, Book Review, Magazine, web-only articles, videos, etc. Includes content dating back to 1851 (5 article per day per person limit from years 1923-1980). Does not include the cooking section, crossword, or the Athletic. Patrons will need to create an account with your MTU email address and a unique password first before using this link to access content. You will need to log in with your account credentials to save articles.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Major world news; includes articles from newspapers, newswires, news magazines and TV/radio transcripts. Text, publication type and image searching available.
Key Industry Publications & Trade Journals
- ACM QueueCovers a wide range of computing topics and is
produced by the Association for Computing Machinery. Online access 2003-present - Microbiology TodayEach issue is geared towards a given theme or topic relevant to current
microbiology news. Produced by the Society for General Microbiology. - Layers MagazineHow-to's, industry news, & product reviews for the design world.
Sources for White Papers
- FindWhitePapers.comTechnical white papers from across industries
- Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development White PapersPolicy and world issues focused
- USA.govSearches across government sites. Include "white paper" as a search term to narrow results.