Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Library Session Materials
Tutorials & How-To's
- How to get full-text articles with Interlibrary LoanShort, interactive tutorial that covers using Interlibrary Loan and Michigan eLibrary to request articles, book chapters, and books. Opens in a new tab.
- How to use the library search toolAn interactive tutorial that provides an overview of using the library's basic search functions.
- Journal of Forestry Style GuideProvides an overview of common citation and formatting guidelines used in this journal. It largely follows Chicago Style (see below for more in-depth overview of this style).
- Chicago Manual of Style from Purdue OWLPurdue's Online Writing Lab produces an in-depth resource that details how to format and cite references in-text and in a references list using the Chicago Manual of Style. There are lots of examples that you can use to build your own citation list!
- Zotero: Citation Management SoftwareFor longer writing projects, consider using citation management software to organize your references and cite them auto-magically. Zotero is one great tool. The library also supports EndNote.
Key Resources
Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to locate scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports across broad topics.
Access Note: When off-campus, be sure to navigate to Google Scholar from the library's website to appropriately access Michigan Tech's subscription resources. - Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of articles, indexing, and abstracts from journals dating back to 1997. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics.
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.