Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
- Selecting Library ResourcesWhere do you even begin searching for articles, books, and other resources? Learn about the basic research resources that the library offers.
- Understanding Citations (APA style)Get a quick overview of APA style citation and begin thinking about the reasons why researchers cite.
- Searching Library DatabasesAdvanced strategies for searching databases.
- Evaluating ResourcesHow to evaluate the quality of your resources based on purpose, authority, and currency.
- Primary & Secondary SourcesExamine key differences between primary and secondary sources.
- More tutorials...Find additional tutorials on using the library catalog, reading call numbers, and renewing materials on the library website
VPA Subject Guide
Visit the Visual and Performing Arts guide for more resources on this topic.
Library Session Documents
Resources for FA2150
The resources below have been selected to provide a narrower scope for your search in FA2150. If they do not contain what you need, broaden your search using our homepage!
- Art Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles articles, dissertations, and reproductions of fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a collection of over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences covering many time periods and cultures. Users can search, view and download images for educational and research purposes.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive includes the scanned images of over 1128 scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines covering African, African-American, Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Biology, Botany, Classics, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Health, History, Latin American, Life sciences, Literature, Mathematics, Middle Eastern, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScope: An online collection to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Includes many reference books that may have info on artists.
Browse Journals
Use the Browzine tool to browse for journals (rather than articles or databases) by topic. Searching in an individual journal will narrow your search substantially. For FA2150, the Arts & Humanities Subject is a great place to start. Check out the Architecture, Art & Design, and Fine Arts sub-categories for an even narrower selection of journals.
ArtStor
In order to download images from Artstor, you must create an individual account. After clicking "Download" you will see the page below. Do not log in through the institution - if you navigated to the site via the library website and/or are on campus, you are already logged into MTU's subscription. This just lets you browse what we have access to. To download, you will need to create an individual account. An account also lets you build and organize your own collections! 
Please contact reflib@mtu.edu with any questions!