Welcome to Communications, Culture, & Media!
Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Communications, Culture, & Media Course Guides
Start Your Research
Start your research by finding background information on media strategies, culture influence, communications and more.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and CommunicationsExplore the ways that editorial content is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
Key Resources
These resources go into more depth and detail on a wide range of communications, culter and media topics.
Databases
- Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowA guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words -- past and present-- from across the English-speaking world.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics.
Journals
- Journal of broadcasting & electronic mediaAvailable online and in the library.
Serials Collection-Garden Level
PN1991 .J6 - Critical Studies in Media Communication : CSMC : a publication of the National Communication AssociationAvailable online and in the library from 2000-Present, a journal that offers articles on a variety of subjects.
Serials Collection-Garden Level
PN4071 .C72 - Journal of Popular CultureAvailable online and in the library from 1971-Present
Serials Collection-Garden Level
AP2 .J8325
Books
- Encyclopedia of new media : an essential reference to communication and technologMain Collection - Third Floor
QA76.575 .E5368 2003 - Desktop encyclopedia of telecommunicationsAvailable online and in the Main Collection - Third Floor
TK5102 .M85 2000
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.