Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
- Selecting Library ResourcesWhere do you even begin searching for articles, books, and other resources? Learn about the basic research resources that the library offers.
- Understanding Citations (APA style)Get a quick overview of APA style citation and begin thinking about the reasons why researchers cite.
- Searching Library DatabasesAdvanced strategies for searching databases.
- Evaluating ResourcesHow to evaluate the quality of your resources based on purpose, authority, and currency.
- Primary & Secondary SourcesExamine key differences between primary and secondary sources.
- More tutorials...Find additional tutorials on using the library catalog, reading call numbers, and renewing materials on the library website
Library Session Materials
- Activity 1: Depth & AccuracyAnswer the following questions about your table's source:
How was the accuracy of this source verified before it was published?
How long do you think this source took to get from idea to publication?
Where did the information in this source come from? - Activity 2: Fake or RealSee how well you can spot misinformation
In-Class Sources
- Nanoparticle-Mediated Cytoplasmic Delivery of Messenger RNA Vaccines: Challenges and Future PerspectivesResearch Article
Access PDF directly from library catalog. - Introduction to Molecular VaccinologyTextbook
Full-Text link in library catalog, browse chapters - After COVID-19 Successes, Researchers Push to Develop mRNA Vaccines for Other DiseasesMagazine article
from Scientific American. - How Vaccines WorkWebsite
howstuffworks.com - "How is the Pfizer coronavirus vaccine manufactured?"Social Media Post
from Reddit
Electronic Resources
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowDetailed technical information on individual chemical compounds and substances.
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases with articles on a range of science and technology topics.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes abstracts only but from a wide variety of sources. Use Husky Fetch for full-text when available.
- Knovel Chemistry and Chemical Engineering This link opens in a new windowHandbooks and technical information. Be sure to choose "my subscription" in the search results to view resources that we have full-access to.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowContains academic articles on a broad range of topics (not just science).
- Taylor & Francis eBooks (Contains CRCnetBASE) This link opens in a new windowWide range of scientific handbooks. Search categories Chemistry and Chemical Engineering for more specific results.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowA huge range of chemistry and chemical engineering information. Must REGISTER TO ACCESS (click more... below).
ChemDraw - Download Instructions & Tutorials
Downloading ChemDraw
To download a student copy of ChemDraw to your laptop or home computer:
Option 1: Launch ChemOffice via AppsAnywhere
Option 2: Download via IT's Software Distribution Center
- Visit: https://downloads.it.mtu.edu/ and select ChemDraw from their list of available software
- Follow all instructions on the IT site to download. Please read carefully - you will need to activate the software using IT's code.
- You will need to create an account in order to download the software.
ChemDraw Tutorials
NOTE: You may need to pause and restart the video after it has played for 1-2 seconds. The sound doesn't always start correctly, but this resolves the issue!