Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
External Writing Websites
Below are some engineering databases where you can find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and standards. For additional resources, please visit the library's Database A-Z list and Catalog.
Online or mobile access to over 200 engineering sources including the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, PE exam study for civil engineering and other ebooks (also individually cataloged in our catalog). Resources are organized by subject, discipline or curriculum and a range of explanatory videos. Tools include calculators and data visualization.
Access Note: Roaming Passport is a single click download to a mobile device allowing access to the database when your mobile device is not connected to Michigan Tech's network.
ASME Digital Collection
Full coverage of ASME journal content from 2000 to present. Searching and access to limited content (abstracts and citations) for journals from 1960 through 1999, conference proceedings from 1956 to present and ebooks from 1993 to present are also available in this collection.
Engineering Village Compendex
Provides comprehensive access to the latest engineering research covering engineering and applied science literature in over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Compendex includes Engineering Index (1884-1969).
Taylor & Francis eBooks (Contains CRCnetBASE)
Access a vast collection of ebooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science, including the CRC Engineering Handbooks that were formerly available through CRCnetBase. Individual CRCnetBASE titles are also discoverable through the Search tab on the library’s homepage.
Access to full-text journal articles, conference proceedings and standards published by IEEE and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers). Select legacy content dating back to 1950 is also included.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest)
Extensive collection of materials science and engineering resources Including METADEX. Full-text titles from international scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.
Full text of all SAE Technical Papers from 1906 to present as well as SAE Ground Vehicles and Aerospace Standards, both historical and current. Subjects cover all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Additional database content includes abstracts to journal articles, magazine articles, conference proceedings, special papers from SAE and other engineering societies.
Web of Science
The Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.