Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Standards Currently Available for MEPIII
The library has a wide range of standards on subscription and on course reserve that will be of interest to students completing projects in MEPIII. All of the following standards have been requested by MEPIII students over the last several years. The list is broken into digital and print standards. If you are interested in a standard not on this list, please use the library's Request a Standard form. Be aware that it may take several days to process requests.
Digital Standards
The following relevant standards are available via the library's subscription to TechStreet Enterprise. If you are off-campus, please navigate to TechStreet Enterprise to log in via the Michigan Tech's subscription for full access.
Print Standards on Course Reserve
The library has the following standards in print and on Course Reserve. You can access them during Week 2 of the semester by visiting Ask Us help desk. After Week 2, these standards are housed at the Circulation Desk and can be requested. They are available to be used within the building for short time periods.
Did you find a standard not on this list? Visit our Standards Guide for more information on finding and citing standards.
Standards Databases Available
The databases below are also a great place to start for ASTM, IEEE, and SAE standards.- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowASTM Compass provides full-text access to ASTM standards, journals, books and more.
Standards include the complete ASTM Annual Book of Standards as well as historical and withdrawn standards; and many associated standards research reports. Active standards are updated weekly.
The Engineering Digital Library includes content from nine ASTM journals, practical how-to manuals and technical monographs, symposia and special technical papers, data series and historical collections including bulletins, proceedings and more. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text journal articles, conference proceedings and standards published by IEEE and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers). Select legacy content dating back to 1950 is also included.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowFull text of all SAE Technical Papers from 1906 to present as well as SAE Ground Vehicles and Aerospace Standards, both historical and current. Subjects cover all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Additional database content includes abstracts to journal articles, magazine articles, conference proceedings, special papers from SAE and other engineering societies. - Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new windowView and access the Van Pelt and Opie Library's Current Electronic Standard Subscriptions, available for download through September 30. New subscription cycles start annually on October 1st and titles may change at this time.
Check out the library’s Standards Guide for more information on finding and using standards, including how to search for ASTM or IEEE standards online and how to locate print standards. If you need a standard the library does not own, please Request a Standard.
