Research Poster Guide
- Visit the Research Poster GuideFor more info on making a research poster (including the template from the library session), visit the library guide on research posters.
Recommended Background Resources
Reference resources are a good place to start your research, because they help you to learn about an unfamiliar topic, narrow your topic by presenting specific issues within broader subject areas, identify keywords describing your topic, and identify important names and dates relating to your topic that help you to search other sources more efficiently.
Dictionaries
Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences (Print)
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary (Print)
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Sports Science (Print)
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine (Online)
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology (Online)
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics (Print)
Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Print)
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (Print and Online)
MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (Print)
Other Sources
Mental Measurements Yearbook (Print)
Sports: A Reference Guide and Critical Commentary (Print)
Recommended Databases
Health Sciences & Psychology Databases
- PubMed (MEDLINE/National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new windowFrom National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1966 - Present. Scope: contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
- APA PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- APA PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Online Journals
- Journal of Human Sport and ExercisePeer-reviewed, open access journal (i.e. all articles are freely available).
- Online Journal of Sport PsychologyOpen access, peer-reviewed online journal.
Selected Websites
- AmoebaWeb: Exercise and Sports PsychologyFrom Vanguard University of Southern California.
- Center for the Study of Sport in SocietyA research center at Northeastern University
- Center for Sport PsychologyFrom the University of North Texas
Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).