Disability Resources
- Michigan Tech Institutional EquityAccess and disability, request an accommodation
- MTU Institutional Equity-Access and DisabilityDirect access to Michigan Tech resources for disability through Institutional Equity. Request accommodations here, report barriers, and find many other resources.
- MTU Employee Accommodation RequestEmployee request are separate from student requests, please use this link for all MTU employee accommodation requests.
- Job Accommodation NetworkJAN offers free consulting on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), job accommodations, and the employability of people with disabilities.
- Employer Assistance and Resource Network on Disability InclusionEARN supports organizations in their efforts to recruit, hire, retain and advance qualified individuals with disabilities. EARN educates public- and private-sector organizations on ways to build inclusive workplace cultures.
- Different & AbleOrganization that provides resources and support for those with disabilities and their families. Also teaches through storytelling and online communities.
- Disability Language Style GuideFrom the National Center on Disability and Journalism, guide to inclusive language practices when discussing disability.
Research and Information
- MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, database contains cites literature from multiple medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowOpen full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Includes articles from participating journals and authors’ manuscripts submitted in compliance with funding agency requirements.
- Disability:INEmpowers business to achieve disability inclusion and equality. Disability: IN administers the annuel Disability Equality Index (DEI), a free benchmarking tool that provides a confidential opportunity to receive an objective score on disability inclusion policies and practices.
The Minority Body by ISBN: 9780198732587Publication Date: 2016-06-01Elizabeth Barnes argues compellingly a view of disability that is common in the Disability Rights movement. Elizabeth Barnes argues that to be physically disabled is not to have a defective body, but simply to have a minority body.
Disability Rhetoric by ISBN: 9780815652335Publication Date: 2013-01-01Disability Rhetoric is the first book to view rhetorical theory and history through the lens of disability studies. Traditionally, the body has been seen as, at best, a rhetorical distraction; at worst, those whose bodies do not conform to a narrow range of norms are disqualified from speaking.
Own Voices Reads
"Own Voices" is a term that refers to works created by individuals who share some aspect of their identity or experience with their protagonists. Own voices reads can be an important lens for storytelling and often combat stereotypes. It's important to remember too that identities are often intersectional and, in some cases, private; some authors embrace this term and others prefer not to. For this resource page, we've highlighted a handful of works by authors who exemplify the term and are explicitly dealing with identity in their writing.
The Kiss Quotient by ISBN: 9780451490803Publication Date: 2018-06-05Stella Lane thinks math is the only thing that unites the universe. She comes up with algorithms to predict customer purchases--a job that has given her more money than she knows what to do with, and way less experience in the dating department than the average thirty-year-old. It doesn't help that Stella has Asperger's and French kissing reminds her of a shark getting its teeth cleaned by pilot fish. Her conclusion: she needs lots of practice--with a professional. Which is why she hires escort Michael Phan. The Vietnamese and Swedish stunner can't afford to turn down Stella's offer, and agrees to help her check off all the boxes on her lesson plan--from foreplay to more-than-missionary position... Before long, Stella not only learns to appreciate his kisses, but crave all of the other things he's making her feel. Their no-nonsense partnership starts making a strange kind of sense. And the pattern that emerges will convince Stella that love is the best kind of logic...
Care Work by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781551527383Publication Date: 2018-10-30In their new, long-awaited collection of essays, Lambda Literary Award-winning writer and longtime disability justice activist and performance artist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha explores the politics and realities of disability justice, a movement that centers the lives and leadership of sick and disabled queer, trans, Black, and brown people, with knowledge and gifts for all. Leah writes passionately and personally about creating spaces by and for sick and disabled queer people of color, and creative "collective access" -- access not as a chore but as a collective responsibility and pleasure -- in our communities and political movements. Bringing their survival skills and knowledge from years of cultural and activist work, Piepzna-Samarasinha explores everything from the economics of queer femme emotional labour, to suicide in queer and trans communities, to the nitty-gritty of touring as a sick and disabled queer artist of colour. Care Work is a mapping of access as radical love, a celebration of the work that sick and disabled queer/people of color are doing to find each other and to build power and community, and a toolkit for everyone who wants to build radically resilient, sustainable communities of liberation where no one is left behind. Powerful and passionate, Care Work is a crucial and necessary call to arms.
I Can't Walk but I Can Crawl by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1412918723Publication Date: 2005-10-18Joan is an adult with cerebral palsy who grew up when compulsory education was not in place for all children. Her memories of her childhood before inclusion, her development as a teenager and her adult life are chronicled without sentiment and this book offers the reader an autobiography of someone who lives with a significant disability. The book is supported by SCOPE who have provided an introduction and informative commentary about cerebral palsy.
