Welcome to Biomedical Engineering!
Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Start Your Research
Start your research by finding background information on biological sciences, biological engineering, and biomedical engineering.
- Introduction to biomedical engineeringMain Collection - Third Floor
R856 .I47 2012 - A dictionary of biomedicineRequest through Interlibrary Loan
- Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineeringMain Collection - Third Floor
R857.M3 E63 2004
Key Resources
These resources go into more depth and detail on a wide range of biomedical engineering topics.
Databases
- Engineering Village Compendex This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive access to abstracts of the latest engineering research covering engineering and applied science literature in over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Also includes historical research from Engineering Index (1884-1969).
- PubMed (MEDLINE/National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new windowA service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2000 - Present
MTU is not a member of BioMed Central, which limits our access to Open Access journals. You will need to register to search BioMed Central. - MatWeb Material Property Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers and other engineering materials.
Journals
- Annual review of biomedical engineeringAvailable from 1999
- BiomaterialsAvailable from 1995
- Acta BiomaterialiaAvailable from Volume 1 ( 2005 )
Books
- Introduction to biomedical engineeringJohn Enderle, Joseph Bronzino.
Main Collection - Third Floor
R856 .I47 2012 - Polymer handbookMain Collection - Third Floor
QD388 .P65 1999 - Nanotechnologies for the Life SciencesAvailable online for MTU users. Requires an ISO password for off-campus use.
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.