Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Welcome
Welcome to this library guide for BE4330/5330 Biomimetic Materials. This guide contains library resources that will support you both in this course and in other BE courses at Tech. If you have any questions about the library or finding & using sources, Ask Us!
Finding Resources
The links below are broad, general Biology, Medical, and Engineering databases that you can start your research in. The library's basic search is also a great starting point.
-
Engineering Village Compendex This link opens in a new window
Database includes extensive indexing and abstracts of scholarly and technical engineering and applied science literature. Sources comprise of journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and preprints. Includes historical research from Engineering Index (1884-1969) as well as contemporary findings and innovations.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
-
PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowOpen full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Includes articles from participating journals and authors’ manuscripts submitted in compliance with funding agency requirements.
-
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles, trade articles, reports, conference proceeding and magazines related to the biological sciences. Broad coverage includes topics related to medicine, technology, and the environment. Also includes microbiology, evolution, immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields.
-
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of materials science and engineering resources Including METADEX. Full-text titles from international scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.
-
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Online or mobile access to over 200 engineering sources including the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, PE exam study for civil engineering and other ebooks (also individually cataloged in our catalog). Tools include data visualization, spreadsheets, and solution walkthroughs.
Access Note: Accept cookies to maintain access to the database when your mobile device is not connected to Michigan Tech's network.
-
Library's Basic SearchThis is a good place to start your research. Starting with a simple search for "homelessness" will retrieve numerous articles that begin to dig into causes and prevalence. As you learn more, add additional keywords and narrow your search to peer reviewed articles as appropriate!
Zotero Quick Start Guide
New to Zotero? We recommend checking out the training links on Zotero.org, especially this Quick Start Guide and Zotero's Screencast Tutorials.
Getting Help with EndNote
EndNote.com Support:
- EndNote Support
- EndNote Training Videos
- EndNote Training Video Downloads
- EndNote YouTube Channel
- Online User Guide (Windows & Mac)
Graduate School Support:
Library Support:
- Workshops
- For additional resources, visit our Citation Support page.