Brought to you by...
This workshop is part of Husky Innovate's 2023 Event Series and brought to you in partnership with the Van Pelt and Opie Library and Michigan Tech's PTRC.
Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Other Useful Resources
- USPTO Free ServicesThe USPTO offers a wide range of intellectual property (IP) resources, including application assistance, education and training, and other services that support the full spectrum of customers—from independent patent and trademark filers, to attorneys and business advisors in both the private and public sectors.
- Google PatentsContains PDFs of patents and applications. Google Patents claims to contain all US patents, but 3rd party searches show that patent coverage is not exhaustive.
- Trademark ID ManualIdentify specific terms for a product or service using the online Acceptable Identification of Goods & Services Manual.
- Manual of Patent Examination Procedure (MPEP)Provides USPTO patent examiners, applicants, attorneys, agents, and representatives of applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO.
Session Materials and Resources
- 6.5-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy GuideThis tutorial references PatFT, a deprecated system. However, the method behind this strategy for searching U.S. patents is still useful.
- Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) SearchSearch the CPC system for classifications that can be used for an advanced patent search.
- USPTOThe United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
- Patent Public Search - USPTO Full-Text Patent Document DatabaseThis is the USPTO's free, online searchable database of granted U. S. patents and published patent applications. Coverage is from 1790 to the present.
- Inventor Search Assistance BetaYou cannot get a patent if your invention has already been publicly disclosed. Therefore, a search of all previous public disclosures, foreign patents and printed publications should be conducted. This tool was designed to help you get started.
- New! Trademark SearchThe new database of federally registered trademarks. This database replaces TESS.
- Trademark Search Database HelpTrademark Search database Help page
Patents and Trademarks in the News
- Utility Patents in the News: GreatPlateIn which a flying disc that becomes a plate is patented: US D781,659
- Design Patents in the News: Columbia v. SeirusColumbia Sportswear sues clothing company Seirus for alleged design patent infringement. Seirus' use of it's logo becomes the focus of this ongoing court battle.
- Design Patents in the News: Skechers vs EliyaSkechers cries "infringement" by Eliya, who in turn says that the design patent held by Skechers is invalid.
- Plant Patents in the News: Driscoll's Inc. v. ShawDriscoll's sues a plant scientist and convicted strawberry thief, but the court is skeptical.
- Plant Patents in the News: University of FloridaBlueberry farmers: Taxpayer-funded University of Florida helping the competition in Mexico.
- Trademarks: Zombie Cinderella vs Disney CinderellaTTAB reverses decision to refuse Zombie Cinderalla a registered trademark.
- Trademarks: Jaws Devour Your Hunger vs. JawsTTAB affirms refusal to register a trademark to Jaws and Jaws Devour Your Hunger.
- Hazy IP: Understanding patents and trademarks through hopsThe use of patent and trademarks in the craft brewing business can illuminate the differences and importance of these two types of intellectual property.