Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Van Pelt and Opie Library is happy to welcome students. This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us if you need further assistance.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
This is a short list of commonly used databases. If these don't look like they contain quite what you need, you can visit the Databases A-Z page of the library website and search for more by subject.
Consider also using BrowZine to explore relevant journal titles!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
General database that provides a lot of great articles for just about any topic!
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business, and legal information. News content is pulled from major national and international news sources; business content includes profiles and news; and legal information includes cases and associated coverage.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Demographic data visualization and research site allows users to generate vector maps in formats including side-by-side, multivariable, swipe maps, street level and satellite views. Data reports and downloads are easily created and exported from current and historical (220+ years) demographic data.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.