Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Class Materials
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
- Selecting Library ResourcesWhere do you even begin searching for articles, books, and other resources? Learn about the basic research resources that the library offers.
- Understanding Citations (APA style)Get a quick overview of APA style citation and begin thinking about the reasons why researchers cite.
- Searching Library DatabasesAdvanced strategies for searching databases.
- Evaluating ResourcesHow to evaluate the quality of your resources based on purpose, authority, and currency.
- Primary & Secondary SourcesExamine key differences between primary and secondary sources.
- More tutorials...Find additional tutorials on using the library catalog, reading call numbers, and renewing materials on the library website
Good Starting Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering multiple subject areas. Includes full text and content from articles, proceedings, newspapers, dissertations, and audio-visual sources.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Features contextual information and opinions on today's social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
